Ward & Woodhouse Share Reading Wins

September 07 2013

BEN WARD and Luke Woodhouse shared the spoils on the opening day of the PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour weekend in Reading.

Ward followed up his previous Challenge Tour success in Event Ten in July by sweeping through the field on Saturday's Event 13 at the Rivermead Centre.

The 24-year-old from Dorchester defeated Anthony West and Lewis Hackett for the loss of only one leg before then edging past Isle of Wight ace Keegan Brown 4-2 to reach the quarter-finals, where he was a 4-2 winner against Samuel Head.

He then overcame Hull's Reece Robinson by the same scoreline in the semi-finals, and claimed the £500 first prize with a narrow 4-3 defeat of Sam Hewson in the decider.

Hewson's run to the final included victories over Dutch trio Kevin Voornhout, Ryan De Vreede and Wouter Vaes in the latter stages, while another Dutch ace, Jan Dekker, also reached the quarter-finals.

Ward came close to completing a memorable 'double' as he reached the final of the day's second event, but went down 4-1 to Luke Woodhouse, the 24-year-old from Worcestershire who claimed his first title on the Challenge Tour.

Woodhouse - a loser in the last 32 to Brown earlier in the day - overcame Jamie Landon, Shane Edwards, Curtis Bagley, Gaz Cousins and Ryan Hogarth in his run to the victory, as he took home £500 as the Event 14 champion.

Ward, hot on the heels of his earlier triumph, overcame Adam Smith-Neale, Craig Cox, Lee Whitworth, Shaun Griffiths and Dekker as he progressed to the decider, with the £300 prize money taking him to £800 on the day.

Dekker followed up his earlier quarter-final with a semi-final appearance in the day's second event, and he was joined in the last four by Hogarth, while the four losing quarter-finalists - Matthew Dennant, Josh Payne, Cousins and Griffiths - all have experience at senior PDC level.

Sunday will see Challenge Tour Event 15 complete the weekend in Reading, with a further £3,000 prize money on offer.

PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour Event 13
Preliminary Round

Jon Farmer 4-3 Jamie Landon
Dan Dean 4-3 Michael Blake
Rick Veugelers 4-2 Andrew Clark
Billy Holmes 4-2 Jack Tweddell
Curis Bagley 4-2 James Thompson
Ashley Sandon-James 4-0 Rainer Hofweber
Adam Hunt 4-0 Oliver Stell
Adam Lipscombe 4-2 Jack Martin
Michael McFall 4-3 Ryan Newton
Chris Aubrey 4-3 Gavin Howard
Richard Baillie 4-0 Liam Fairclough
Stuart Hunt 4-2 George Killington
Shaun Griffiths 4-0 Jack Creese
Sam Hewson 4-1 Matthew Dicken
Arron Fairweather 4-1 Jake Patchett
Samuel Head 4-2 Martin Walker
Curtis Hammond 4-3 Rhys Hayden
Ricky Evans 4-1 Sam Hill
Luke Woodhouse 4-2 Shane Edwards
David Hunt 4-3 Logan Barnecut
Kurt Parry 4-2 Paul Cooper
Gaz Cousins 4-2 Russell Pope
Dan Read 4-2 Dan Franzen
Sean Ryan 4-3 Alan Clutterham
Reece Robinson 4-2 Alan Bell
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-2 Kevin Bambrick

First Round
Nathan Aspinall 4-0 Nick Paenen
Dan Dean 4-2 Jon Farmer
Ryan Harrington 4-3 Eric van Meel
Rick Veugelers 4-1 Billy Holmes
Wouter Vaes 4-0 Aden Kirk
Curtis Bagley 4-1 Ashley Sandon-James
Nicholas Day 4-3 John De Kruijf
Jimmy Hendriks 4-2 Adam Hunt
Matthew Dennant 4-2 Craig Cox
Adam Lipscombe 4-2 Michael McFall
Ryan De Vreede 4-0 Robbie Herbert
Richard Baillie 4-0 Chris Aubrey
Kevin Voornhout 4-1 Stephen Lacroix
Shaun Griffiths 4-2 Stuart Hunt
Brandon Walsh 4-2 Gareth Thomas
Sam Hewson 4-1 Lewis McGurn
Luis Barberan 4-3 James Young
Samuel Head 4-2 Arron Fairweather
Adam Smith-Neale 4-3 Ross Smith
Ricky Evans 4-1 Curtis Hammond
Keegan Brown 4-3 Dan Butler
Luke Woodhouse 4-2 Ben Songhurst
Ben Ward 4-1 Anthony West
Lewis Hackett 4-1 David Hunt
Ryan Hogarth 4-1 Chris Millward
Gaz Cousins 4-2 Kurt Parry
Jan Dekker 4-2 Paul Barham
Sean Ryan 4-2 Dan Read
Daniel Day 4-2 Josh Payne
Reece Robinson 4-3 Ryan Jones
Lee Whitworth 4-3 Lewis venes
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-0 Kirsty Hutchinson

Second Round
Nathan Aspinall 4-1 Dan Dean
Rick Veugelers 4-3 Ryan Harrington
Wouter Vaes 4-1 Curtis Bagley
Nicholas Day 4-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Matthew Dennant 4-0 Adam Lipscombe
Ryan De Vreede 4-1 Richard Baillie
Kevin Voornhout 4-3 Shaun Griffiths
Sam Hewson 4-0 Brandon Walsh
Samuel Head 4-1 Luis Barberan
Ricky Evans 4-1 Adam Smith-Neale
Keegan Brown 4-3 Luke Woodhouse
Ben Ward 4-0 Lewis Hackett
Gaz Cousins 4-3 Ryan Hogarth
Jan Dekker 4-0 Sean Ryan
Reece Robinson 4-1 Daniel Day
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-0 Lee Whitworth
Losers £50

Third Round
Nathan Aspinall 4-3 Rick Veugelers
Wouter Vaes 4-1 Nicholas Day
Ryan De Vreede 4-2 Matthew Dennant
Sam Hewson 4-0 Kevin Voornhout
Samuel Head 4-0 Ricky Evans
Ben Ward 4-3 Keegan Brown
Jan Dekker 4-1 Gaz Cousins
Reece Robinson 4-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Losers £75

Wouter Vaes 4-1 Nathan Aspinall
Sam Hewson 4-3 Ryan De Vreede
Ben Ward 4-2 Samuel Head
Reece Robinson 4-3 Jan Dekker
Losers £100

Sam Hewson 4-1 Wouter Vaes
Ben Ward 4-2 Reece Robinson
Losers £200

Ben Ward 4-3 Sam Hewson
Winner £500
Runner-Up £300

PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour Event 14
Preliminary Round

Ryan Hogarth 4-0 Dan Read
James Young 4-1 Logan Barnecut
Adam Lipscombe 4-3 Ashley Sandon-James
Keegan Brown 4-1 Sean Ryan
Kevin Voornhout 4-0 Kirsty Haw
Matthew Dennant 4-0 Andrew Clark
Shane Edwards 4-1 Sam Hill
Kirsty Hutchinson 4-3 Jon Farmer
Dan Dean 4-1 Eric van Meel
Curtis Bagley 4-3 Ryan Jones
Aden Kirk 4-1 Rhys Hayden
Gaz Cousins 4-2 Gavin Howard
Reece Robinson 4-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Adam Hunt 4-0 Gareth Thomas
Kurt Parry 4-0 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Nick Paenen 4-3 Dan Butler
John De Kruijf 4-3 Russell Pope
Richard Baillie 4-1 Michael McFall
Ross Smith 4-3 Nicholas Day
Arron Fairweather 4-2 Brandon Walsh
Jack Tweddell 4-3 Chris Aubrey
Billy Holmes 4-2 Ryan Harrington
Oliver Stell 4-2 Michael Blake

First Round
Lewis Hackett 4-1 Chris Millward
Ryan Hogarth 4-1 James Young
Rick Veugelers 4-2 Ricky Evans
Keegan Brown 4-3 Adam Lipscombe
Lewis Venes 4-2 Nathan Aspinall
Kevin Voornhout 4-1 Anthony West
Ryan Newton 4-0 Alan Clutterham
Matthew Dennant 4-3 Curtis Hammond
Luke Woodhouse 4-2 Jamie Landon
Shane Edwards 4-0 Kirsty Hutchinson
Ryan De Vreede 4-3 Jake Patchett
Curtis Bagley 4-0 Dan Dean
Martin Walker 4-1 Stuart Hunt
Aden Kirk 4-2 Lewis McGurn
Wouter Vaes 4-1 Rainer Hofweber
Gaz Cousins 4-3 George Killington
Samuel Head 4-1 Kevin Bambrick
Reece Robinson 4-1 Adam Hunt
Josh Payne 4-0 David Hunt
Kurt Parry 4-0 Nick Paenen
Daniel Day 4-0 Robbie Herbert
John De Kruijf 4-2 Alan Bell
Jan Dekker 4-0 Ben Songhurst
Richard Baillie 4-2 Luis Barberan
Lee Whitworth 4-2 Dan Franzen
Arron Fairweather 4-1 Ross Smith
Ben Ward 4-2 Adam Smith-Neale
Craig Cox 4-3 Jack Tweddell
Matthew Dicken 4-3 Paul Barham
Shaun Griffiths 4-1 Billy Holmes
James Thompson 4-3 Paul Cooper
Oliver Stell 4-0 Liam Fairclough

Second Round
Ryan Hogarth 4-1 Lewis Hackett
Keegan Brown 4-3 Rick Veugelers
Lewis Venes 4-3 Kevin Voornhout
Matthew Dennant 4-0 Ryan Newton
Luke Woodhouse 4-3 Shane Edwards
Curtis Bagley 4-0 Ryan De Vreede
Aden Kirk 4-1 Martin Walker
Gaz Cousins 4-1 Wouter Vaes
Samuel Head 4-1 Reece Robinson
Josh Payne 4-0 Kurt Parry
Daniel Day 4-3 John De Kruijf
Jan Dekker 4-2 Richard Baillie
Lee Whitworth 4-1 Arron Fairweather
Ben Ward 4-1 Craig Cox
Shaun Griffiths 4-0 Matthew Dicken
Oliver Stell 4-2 James Thompson
Losers £50

Third Round
Ryan Hogarth 4-1 Keegan Brown
Matthew Dennant 4-1 Lewis Venes
Luke Woodhouse 4-1 Curtis Bagley
Gaz Cousins 4-3 Aden Kirk
Josh Payne 4-1 Samuel Head
Jan Dekker 4-0 Daniel Day
Ben Ward 4-2 Lee Whitworth
Shaun Griffiths 4-1 Oliver Stell
Losers £75

Ryan Hogarth 4-3 Matthew Dennant
Luke Woodhouse 4-0 Gaz Cousins
Jan Dekker 4-3 Josh Payne
Ben Ward 4-3 Shaun Griffiths
Losers £100

Luke Woodhouse 4-2 Ryan Hogarth
Ben Ward 4-3 Jan Dekker
Losers £200

Luke Woodhouse 4-1 Ben Ward
Winner £500
Runner-Up £300


Loading... Loading...