2014 Premier League Darts Field Announced

January 01 2014

PETER WRIGHT and Dave Chisnall will make their debuts in Premier League Darts in 2014 after being confirmed amongst the ten-player field alongside Phil Taylor, Michael van Gerwen, Adrian Lewis, Simon Whitlock, Raymond van Barneveld, Robert Thornton, Wes Newton and Gary Anderson.

Scottish-born Wright has been rewarded for his success in reaching the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship final with his first appearance in darts' roadshow tournament.

Chisnall is rewarded for his rise into the world's top five, which has included a run to the World Grand Prix final, a European Tour win and two Players Championship victories, with his debut in Premier League Darts.

Michael van Gerwen, who won the Premier League Darts title in his debut season in 2013, will defend his title this season alongside six-time champion Phil Taylor and 2011 winner Gary Anderson, who is one of the Sky Sports Wildcards in the event.

Former Premier League Darts finalists Adrian Lewis and Simon Whitlock are joined by Raymond van Barneveld, a six-time semi-finalist in the tournament, while Robert Thornton and Wes Newton retain their places after making their Premier League Darts debuts in 2013.

"This is a fantastic line-up for the 2014 Premier League Darts and I congratulate Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall on their selection, which is fully deserved after their brilliant years," said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

"The Premier League Darts has always guaranteed excitement, shocks and world-class darts, and this line-up of ten players is sure to provide that by the bucket-load!

"We'll be welcoming record crowds for the Premier League Darts and also visiting the SSE Hydro in Glasgow and Leeds' First Direct Arena for the first time in what promises to be a memorable four months."

Hearn added: "There is always going to be debate and discussion over which players are included but the Wildcards chosen both by ourselves and Sky Sports provide a great mix of quality, experience and personalities.

"Many more players came into consideration due to the incredibly high standard now on the PDC circuit, particularly Andy Hamilton and Kim Huybrechts, as well as James Wade.

"James has enjoyed six great years in Premier League Darts and was a worthy champion in 2009, however this year we believe that he would benefit from a break from the pressures and travel of competing in the tournament to continue his treatment for his well-documented health issues."

The 16-week Premier League Darts campaign initially sees the ten players play each other once over the opening night weeks, before the bottom two players are relegated after Judgement Night on week nine.

The remaining eight players will then meet once more over the next six weeks before the top four players progress to the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday May 22.

The Premier League Darts season will begin on Thursday February 6 at the Echo Arena in Liverpool, before travelling to the BIC in Bournemouth, Odyssey Arena in Belfast and the new SSE Hydro in Glasgow during February.

March sees the event visit the Westpoint Arena in Exeter, Capital FM Arena in Nottingham, make its debut at the First Direct Arena in Leeds and return to Dublin at The O2.

April opens with Judgement Night at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff before also visiting the Motorpoint Arena in Sheffield, the GE Gas & Oil Arena in Aberdeen and Manchester's Phones 4u Arena.

The final three league nights in May will be held at the NIA in Birmingham, Newcastle's Metro Radio Arena and The Brighton Centre, before the Play-Offs see the Premier League Darts champion crowned at The O2 in London.

Tickets are available now, with full details available at www.pdc.tv/tickets.

2014 Premier League Darts Competitors
Phil Taylor - 16-time World Champion
Michael van Gerwen - Reigning Premier League Darts Champion
Simon Whitlock - 2012 European Champion
Adrian Lewis - 2011 & 2012 World Champion
Dave Chisnall - 2013 World Grand Prix Runner-Up
Peter Wright - 2014 World Championship Finalist
Wes Newton - Two-time Major Finalist
Robert Thornton - 2012 UK Open Champion
Raymond van Barneveld - Five-Time World Champion
Gary Anderson - 2011 Premier League Darts Champion

2014 Premier League Darts - Dates & Venues




Night One

February 6

Echo Arena, Liverpool

Night Two

February 13

BIC, Bournemouth

Night Three

February 20

Odyssey Arena, Belfast

Night Four

February 27

SSE Hydro, Glasgow

Night Five

March 6

Westpoint Arena, Exeter

Night Six

March 13

Capital FM Arena, Nottingham

Night Seven

March 20

First Direct Arena, Leeds

Night Eight

March 27

The O2, Dublin

Night Nine

April 3

Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Night Ten

April 10

Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield

Night 11

April 17

GE Oil & Gas Arena, Aberdeen

Night 12

April 24

Phones 4u Arena, Manchester

Night 13

May 1

NIA, Birmingham

Night 14

May 8

Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle

Night 15

May 15

The Brighton Centre


May 22

The O2, London

For full information and Box Office details, click here.


Loading... Loading...