Burgess Among UK Open Qualifiers

April 22 2012

SIX further Rileys Qualifiers - including former finalist Shayne Burgess - won their places in the Speedy Services UK Open in knockouts held in Rileys Darts Zones on Sunday.

Burgess, who was the runner-up to Phil Taylor in the inaugural UK Open in 2003, won through a knockout staged in Rileys London Victoria, defeating Paul Legg 4-3 in the final.

Nicknamed 'The Bulldog', Burgess last competed in the UK Open in 2006, defeating Cliff Lazarenko before losing to Kevin Dowling in round two, but will now be one of the 32 Rileys Qualifiers who will line up alongside 32 Speedy Qualifiers and the top professionals in Bolton for June's televised finals.

He was joined in qualifying by County Durham's David Dodds, who won through to last year's UK Open and took on eventual winner James Wade in Bolton.

Dodds had been a semi-finalist in Saturday's Middlesbrough qualifier, but went all the way 24 hours later in Rileys Sunderland, defeating Alan George 4-1 in the decider.

Tony Cooper was the qualifier from Rileys Chorlton with a whitewash of Jody Givens, Andy Parsons defeated Ben Ward 4-2 in Bristol, while Dan Russell and Tom Gregory were narrow 4-3 winners in Gillingham and Hull.

The 32 Rileys Qualifiers will join 32 Speedy Qualifiers in competing as amateurs alongside the professional stars in the Speedy Services UK Open televised finals from June 7-10, which are held in the Premier Suite, De Vere Whites, Bolton.

Tickets for the Speedy Services UK Open in June are now on General Sale - click here for full information.

Rileys Bristol
Chris Hartrey 4-3 Karl Lewis
Ben Ward 4-0 Mark Sherwood
Dave Burril 4-2 Bryan Flew
Andy Parsons 4-2 Lee Bryant

Ben Ward 4-1 Chris Hartrey
Andy Parsons 4-3 Dave Burril

Andy Parsons 4-2 Ben Ward

Rileys Gillingham
Gary Trodd 4-2 Martin Cole
Lee Knight 4-3 Lewis McGurn
Dan Russell 4-2 Barrie Knight
Alan Kartrieber 4-1 Russell Harris

Gary Trodd 4-3 Lee Knight
Dan Russell 4-0 Alan Kartrieber

Dan Russll 4-3 Gary Trodd

Rileys Hull
Richie Winpenny 4-3 Jaron Esteve
Vinnie Hawksworth 4-0 Carl Heptinstall
Tom Gregory 4-2 Neil Jackson
David Haig 4-1 Christian Stevenson

Richie Winpenny 4-1 Vinnie Hawksworth
Tom Gregory 4-0 David Haig

Tom Gregory 4-3 Richie Winpenny

Rileys London Victoria
Mark Legg 4-0 Robbie Wigg
Sam Head 4-3 Scott Marsh
Shayne Burgess 4-0 Craig Mucklow
Richard Angelo 4-1 Steve March

Mark Legg 4-2 Sam Head
Shayne Burgess 4-3 Richard Angelo

Shayne Burgess 4-3 Paul Legg

Rileys Manchester Chorlton
Tony Cooper 4-3 Craig Ashcroft
Peter Ward 4-1 Michael Bushby
Andrew McCormack 4-3 Gary Hooper
Jody Givens 4-3 Dean Nutt

Tony Cooper 4-3 Peter Ward
Jody Givens 4-2 Andrew McCormack

Tony Cooper 4-0 Jody Givens

Rileys Sunderland
Paul Knighton 4-3 Neil Rose
David Dodds 4-0 Kevin Guy
Ian Gleeson 4-1 Andy King
Alan George 4-1 Adie Welsh

David Dodds 4-1 Paul Knighton
Alan George 4-3 Ian Gleeson

David Dodds 4-1 Alan George

Loading... Loading...