Dubai To Kick Off 2016 World Series

March 06 2016


THE world's biggest darts stars will compete in the fourth staging of the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters on May 26-27, as Michael van Gerwen bids to continue his incredible run of success at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium.

Dubai will host the opening event of the Professional Darts Corporation's 2016 World Series of Darts, which features six international tournaments ahead of a season-ending World Series Finals.

The eight-player Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters was first held in 2013 and has been won for the past three years by Dutch star van Gerwen, the current world number one who has been untouchable in the unique open-air arena.

Van Gerwen defeated Raymond van Barneveld in the inaugural final, saw off Peter Wright to retain the title in 2014 and then defeated the legendary Phil Taylor last May - and all three will be amongst his rivals for this year's title.

Reigning World Champion Gary Anderson, two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis, multiple major winner James Wade and Premier League star Dave Chisnall will complete the eight-player line-up for the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters.

Play kicks off with the four quarter-finals on Thursday May 26, with the last four players returning on Friday May 27 to compete in the semi-finals and final.

"I can't wait to get back to Dubai," said van Gerwen. "The Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters is a special event and I've loved playing there for the last three years.

"I'll be doing everything I can to make it four in a row in May but there are eight great players in the tournament so I know it will be tough.

"It's a great venue and it will be a fantastic way to start this year's World Series of Darts."

PDC Chairman Barry Hearn added: "The Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters has been a huge success for the past three years and we're already looking forward to another brilliant event this May.

"Playing at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium creates a unique challenge for our players but one that they've risen to, particularly in 2015 during a thrilling two days.

"This year's tournament promises to be another great event."

Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman of Dubai Duty Free said: "This is the fourth year for this tournament which has grown in popularity and attracts the top players who love competing in Dubai.

"The outdoor venue at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium, the enthusiastic crowds and the worldwide viewership, combine to make this a great social and sporting event."

The Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters will be hosted at the Irish Village supported by our long-term partners of JW Marriott Marquis, Qantas and Sixt. The event will also be supported by Dubai Sports Council, Dubai Calendar, Dubai Television and 7 Days.

Following the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters, the eight stars will compete in further World Series of Darts events in New Zealand, China, Japan and Australia before taking part in the World Series Finals in Scotland in November.

Tickets for the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters are on sale now, with Corporate Tickets available to include table seating with food & beverages included and General Admission tickets for the tiered seating.

2016 PDC World Series of Darts
Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters

Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium
Thursday May 26 (8pm)
General Admission (Free Seating) AED199
Corporate Table (Individual) AED799
Corporate Table (Ten Persons) AED 7,999

Friday May 27 (8pm)
General Admission (Free Seating) AED250
Corporate Table (Individual) AED999
Corporate Table (Ten Persons) AED9,999

Two-Day Tickets
General Admission (Free Seating) AED350
Corporate Table (Individual) AED1,599
Corporate Table (Ten Persons) AED15,999

Tickets can be purchased by calling +971 55 309 5495 , by email at or online via or .

Tickets are also available at Virgin Megastores across the UAE and at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Stadium Box Office , Garhoud.

Competing PDC Players
Michael van Gerwen - Three-time Dubai Darts Masters champion
Gary Anderson - Reigning World Champion
Adrian Lewis - 2015 Auckland Darts Masters Champion
Phil Taylor - Three-time Sydney Darts Masters champion
Peter Wright - 2015 Japan Darts Masters finalist
James Wade - 2015 Perth Darts Masters finalist
Raymond van Barneveld - 2013 Dubai Darts Masters finalist
Dave Chisnall - Three-time World Series of Darts semi-finalist

Loading... Loading...