Petersen & Sapup Win Ally Pally Spots

October 01 2013

DEVON PETERSEN and Mohammed Latif Sapup have won places in the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship.

Petersen will return to the big stage in December for his third World Championship appearance after winning the South African Masters, defeating Graham Filby 9-3 in the final.

The 26-year-old from Cape Town has missed 12 months of action as he recovered from an arm problem, but made a brilliant return to action to win a third South African Masters title.

He defeated Victor Smidt and Warrick Scheffer to reach the semi-finals of the event, where he was an 8-5 winner against Charl Pietersen - the youngster who won last year's South African Masters before winning a PDC Tour Card in January.

Petersen then saw off top SAPDO player Filby 9-3 in the decider as he earned his spot back at Alexandra Palace.

Filby had edged past Grant Sampson and Yoshan Roxy Iyer in the knockout stages and produced a superb performance in his semi-final win over former South African Masters winner Charles Losper, claiming an 8-1 win.

Petersen has been joined in winning a return to the World Championship by Malaysia's Mohammed Latif Sapup, who has won the South Asia Qualifier.

Sapup overcame fellow Malaysian Kesava Rao in the final, with Thomat Darus and Kevin Rozario reaching the semi-finals, while over 120 players from countries including Brunei, Thailand, India, Singapore, Mongolia, Bahrain and Pakistan competing in the event.

Petersen and Sapup are the latest International Qualifiers for the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship, joining Australian brothers Kyle and Beau Anderson and New Zealand's Rob Szabo in winning their Alexandra Palace spots.

The Ladbrokes World Darts Championship will be held from December 13-January 1 at Alexandra Palace in London. Tickets are available now from or by calling 0844 871 8807.

2013 South African Masters
Last 16

Devon Petersen 7-2 Victor Smidt
Warrick Scheffer 7-5 Clint Prime
Shawn Hogan 7-6 Nolan Arendse
Charl Pietersen 7-2 Gary Dowman
Waleed Clayton 7-6 Mark De Wet
Charles Losper 7-5 Craig Williams
Yoshan Roxy Iyer 7-4 Brent Robertson
Graham Filby 7-6 Grant Sampson

Devon Petersen 7-4 Warrick Scheffer
Charl Pietersen 7-5 Shawn Hogan
Charles Losper 7-3 Waleed Clayton
Graham Filby 7-6 Yoshan Roxy Iyer

Devon Petersen 8-5 Charl Pietersen
Graham Filby 8-1 Charles Losper

Devon Petersen 9-3 Graham Filby

2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship - South Asia Qualifier
Last 16

Penigran Mohammad, Victor Poulose, Clarines Joseph, Norhisame Wahabatan, Yahya Nikman, Suresh Raj, Tengku Hadzalishah, Mohammed Ghazali Hassan

Mohammed Hairul Azman, M. L. Watanyu Charoonroj, Zulrizan Azdan, Mohammed Nasir Jantan

Thomat Darus, Kevin Rozario

Kesava Rao

Mohammed Latif Sapup

Loading... Loading...