Oceanic Masters Glory For Anderson

August 28 2013

BEAU ANDERSON claimed glory at the DPA Oceanic Masters with a 6-4 win over Clinton Bridge in the final of Wednesday's event at the Warilla Bowls Club.

Anderson ensured that he will join brother Kyle in qualifying for the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship later this year with his superb success in the prestigious event.

Anderson dropped only one leg in early wins over Kerry Allan and Dave Miller, before then defeating fellow Sydney Darts Masters qualifier David Platt 6-3 to reach the quarter-finals.

There, he was taken all the way by Koha Kokiri before dropping just one leg against Jamie Mathers in the semi-finals.

Anderson led 4-1 in the final before Bridge, the DPA's Australian Grand Prix number three this year, hit back to trail just 4-3, but his opponent held his nerve to claim two of the next three and the title.

Bridge, who will also play in the Sydney Darts Masters, defeated Dave Muller 6-4 in the semi-finals and also overcame Mitchell Turner, Wayne Clegg and Kiwi pair Warren Parry and Monty Tuhua - both of whom will also now head to Luna Park for the Sydney Darts Masters.

Muller and Jamie Mathers were left to play off for the final qualifying place in the Sydney Darts Masters, with the latter winning 6-4 to join older brother Gordon Mathers at Luna Park this weekend, while Kokiri, Clegg, New Zealand World Cup ace Craig Caldwell and Australian veteran Russell Stewart were all knocked out in the quarter-finals.

Gordon Mathers, the Australian Grand Prix number two who is also competing in the Sydney Darts Masters this week, lost out 6-4 to Kokiri in the last 16 to see his hopes of winning a World Championship spot dashed.

The event completed the four days of DartPlayers Australia action at the Warilla Bowls club, which has also featured the three Sydney Darts Masters Qualifiers, an Australia v New Zealand Test Match and a trio of womens' events.

DPA Oceanic Masters
Warilla Bowls Club, August 28 2013
Last 16

Koha Kokiri 6-4 Gordon Mathers
Beau Anderson 6-3 David Platt
Russell Stewart 6-1 Rex Harper
Jamie Mathers 6-3 Tony Ngeru
Clinton Bridge 6-5 Monty Tuhua
Wayne Clegg 6-5 Brendan Cunney
Dave Muller 6-5 Harvey Mayall
Craig Caldwell 6-5 Mark McGrath

Beau Anderson 6-5 Koha Kokiri
Jamie Mathers 6-3 Russell Stewart
Clinton Bridge 6-1 Wayne Clegg
Dave Muller 6-3 Craig Caldwell

Beau Anderson 6-1 Jamie Mathers
Clinton Bridge 6-4 Dave Muller

Beau Anderson 6-4 Clinton Bridge

Play-Off For Sydney Darts Masters Qualifying Place
Jamie Mathers 6-4 Dave Muller


Loading... Loading...