TICKETS for the 2018 BetVictor World Matchplay are now on General Sale.

Buy Tickets:
SeeTickets via
Winter Gardens Box Office in person or by calling 0844 856 1111 (calls cost 7p per minute plus your phone company's access charge)

Hospitality Packages will be available from Monday February 19 and can be purchased from Sport and Music via or by calling +44 (0)1925 755 222.

Tickets will also be available through:
Thomas Cook Sport Breaks -


2018 BetVictor World Matchplay
Saturday July 21 (7pm)

First Round x4

Sunday July 22
Afternoon Session (1pm)

First Round x4

Evening Session (7.30pm)
First Round x4

Monday July 23 (7pm)
First Round x4

Tuesday July 24 (7pm)
Second Round x4

Wednesday July 25 (7pm)
Second Round x4

Thursday July 26 (7pm)
Quarter-Finals x 2

Friday July 27 (7pm)
Quarter-Finals x2

Saturday July 28 (7pm)

Sunday July 29 (7pm)

PHIL TAYLOR emotionally bowed out at the BetVictor World Matchplay by claiming an incredible 16th Winter Gardens triumph with an 18-8 defeat of Peter Wright in Sunday's final in Blackpool.

The 56-year-old Stoke great has dominated the history of the World Matchplay, and said his farewell to the tournament ahead of his impending retirement in style with a brilliant display to claim the £115,000 title.

Having knocked out reigning champion Michael van Gerwen and former World Champions Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis in reaching to the final, Taylor found another huge performance to reclaim the prestigious trophy.

Taylor, who averaged 104.24 in the final, said: "It's fantastic - this has capped everything off for me. It couldn't have come at a better time and it's a bonus for me.

"It's lovely, it really is and I've loved every minute of it. To win a major at my age is fantastic, and I've had a tough week when you look at the draw.

"I'll miss this place tremendously - I've loved it here since the first time I walked through the door. It's great to win again and it will go down in history, and I'm delighted for everyone who's supported me."

Wright was bidding to add his second career TV title to add to March's UK Open victory, but the number three seed was unable to match his rival's superior finishing on the night.

Taylor secured an immediate break of throw in the opening leg on double eight and moved two legs up before Wright took out 101 to get off the mark.

The 15-time champion won two of the next three legs to move 4-2 up before Wright finished 100 with two double tops to respond - only to see Taylor take out 72, a brace of 81 finishes, both for 12-darters, and 82 on the bull to lead 8-3.

Wright responded superbly with a barrage of big scores to win the next three legs in 12, 14 and 11 darts to pull back to 8-6 - but Taylor fired in two maximums in an 11-darter of his own to take leg 15.

Taylor also won the next three legs to move 12-6 up before a 13-darter from Wright saw him hit back briefly, with two further 14-darters moving the 56-year-old four legs away from the title.

After hitting a 13-dart finish, Taylor capitalised on five missed doubles from Wright on double ten to lead 16-7 and hit the same bed to move to the brink of victory.

Wright took out 95 to keep his hopes alive, but Taylor hit his seventh 180 to pull clear in the next leg before fittingly hitting double 16 to seal his 16th title.

"During the final I was watching every bit of Peter's body language and he showed every sign of being a little bit tired," Taylor added. "I wanted to keep putting him under pressure.

"I was miles in front at one time and he came back, but I was playing ok and I kept him under pressure."

After being left in tears following the final, Wright said: "Phil is still the best in the world and he's showed that this week.

"I've watched Phil demolish other players in finals and I was on the other end of that big stick that he normally bashes everyone with - but it was a privilege in his last game here.

"I learned a lesson today and I'm grateful to be in the final. A couple of years ago I watched Michael getting beaten by Phil in the final and he was in tears, and that's how much it meant to him.

"It's exactly the same for me and I'll go back to the practice board, become better and I'll come back stronger. I'm still learning and it was great to learn off the master there in the final."

2017 BetVictor World Matchplay
Saturday July 22 (7pm)
4x First Round
Michael Smith 5-10 Steve West
James Wade 11-13 Darren Webster
Gary Anderson 10-7 Christian Kist
Peter Wright 10-8 James Wilson

Sunday July 23
Afternoon Session (1pm)

4x First Round
Jelle Klaasen 5-10 Justin Pipe
Robert Thornton 3-10 Cristo Reyes
Benito van de Pas 9-11 Daryl Gurney
Mensur Suljovic 10-4 John Henderson

Evening Session (7pm)
4x First Round
Dave Chisnall 10-7 Mervyn King
Phil Taylor 10-5 Gerwyn Price
Raymond van Barneveld 10-8 Joe Cullen
Kim Huybrechts 6-10 Alan Norris

Monday July 24 (7pm)
4x First Round
Simon Whitlock 10-5 Kyle Anderson
Adrian Lewis 10-7 Steve Beaton
Michael van Gerwen 10-4 Stephen Bunting
Ian White 7-10 Rob Cross

Tuesday July 25 (7pm)
4x Second Round
Mensur Suljovic 11-6 Justin Pipe
Darren Webster 11-7 Steve West
Gary Anderson 9-11 Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright 11-4 Cristo Reyes

Wednesday July 26 (7pm)
4x Second Round
Dave Chisnall 12-14 Alan Norris
Adrian Lewis 11-8 Rob Cross
Phil Taylor 11-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen 11-3 Simon Whitlock

Thursday July 27 (7pm)
2x Quarter-Finals
Daryl Gurney 16-13 Mensur Suljovic
Darren Webster 12-16 Peter Wright

Friday July 28 (7pm)
2x Quarter-Finals
Alan Norris 13-16 Adrian Lewis
Michael van Gerwen 6-16 Phil Taylor

Saturday July 29 (7pm)
Daryl Gurney 15-17 Peter Wright
Phil Taylor 17-9 Adrian Lewis

Sunday July 30 (7pm)
Phil Taylor 18-8 Peter Wright

First Round - Best of 19 legs
Second Round - Best of 21 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 31 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 33 legs
Final - Best of 35 legs
* Each game must be won by two clear legs, with up to a maximum of five additional legs being played before the sixth additional leg is sudden-death. For example, should a First Round game (best of 19 legs) reach 12-12, then the 25th leg would be the final and deciding leg.

Draw Bracket
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Stephen Bunting
Simon Whitlock (16) v Kyle Anderson
Phil Taylor (8) v Gerwyn Price
Raymond van Barneveld (9) v Joe Cullen
Dave Chisnall (5) v Mervyn King
Kim Huybrechts (12) v Alan Norris
Adrian Lewis (4) v Steve Beaton
Ian White (13) v Rob Cross
Gary Anderson (2) v Christian Kist
Benito van de Pas (15) v Daryl Gurney
Mensur Suljovic (7) v John Henderson
Jelle Klaasen (10) v Justin Pipe
James Wade (6) v Darren Webster
Michael Smith (11) v Steve West
Peter Wright (3) v James Wilson
Robert Thornton (14) v Cristo Reyes

Schedule & fixtures

Live match

Commentary widget currently unavailable.
Statistics widget currently unavailable.
Head-to-Head widget currently unavailable.