KIM HUYBRECHTS heads the field of global invitations for the Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals, with emerging stars Benito van de Pas, Max Hopp and Josh Payne amongst a further eight players confirmed for the Glasgow event next month.

The season-ending World Series of Darts Finals features the eight PDC stars who competed in the international events around the globe earlier in 2016 alongside 16 other competitors at the Braehead Arena on November 5-6, live on ITV4.

Four players from the PDC Order of Merit were confirmed following the completion of the recent World Grand Prix, with Robert Thornton, Michael Smith, Jelle Klaasen and Mensur Suljovic all set to compete in Glasgow.

A further eight invitations have now been confirmed to compete against the likes of Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson and Phil Taylor, headed by former Premier League star Huybrechts.

Belgian ace Huybrechts, 30, has established himself amongst the world's elite in the past five years since joining the PDC circuit, and currently sits in 14th place on the Order of Merit.

Dutch prospect van de Pas, 23, has broken into the world's top 16 this year after winning his first two ProTour titles, and also reached his second major quarter-final at the World Grand Prix earlier in October.

World Youth Champion Max Hopp will compete in the World Series of Darts Finals for a second successive year following his inclusion alongside two players who have won their maiden ProTour ranking titles in 2016, Gerwyn Price and Josh Payne.

Both Daryl Gurney and Joe Cullen have moved into the world's top 32 this year, while Spain's Cristo Reyes is hot on their heels after jumping to 34th in the rankings in less than two years as a professional.

The final four players for the Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals will be confirmed following Sunday's Qualifier in Barnsley for PDC Tour Card Holders.

"The concept of the World Series of Darts has been to show the sport's leading talents on a global stage, and our field in Glasgow will represent both the established elite stars and the prospects who we hope will have long careers at the top level," said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

"With the world's top 12 players already confirmed, the announcement of the eight global invitations moves us a step closer to completing the field with some hugely exciting players.

"Kim Huybrechts has been hugely consistent this year, especially on the European Tour, and is heading the crop of Belgian players who are competing on the PDC circuit now at a great time for the sport in his homeland.

"Max Hopp is in a similar position after establishing himself as the number one ranked German player alongside carrying the mantle of World Youth Champion, and it's amazing to think that he's only just turned 20!

"Benito van de Pas and Josh Payne are two other young stars who have stepped up from the Development Tour to become champions on the ProTour, and both Gerwyn Price and Cristo Reyes have made huge impacts in only a couple of years as professionals.

"Daryl Gurney has been a revelation in the past 12 months, particularly with his performances on the big stage, and it's been brilliant to see Joe Cullen flourish this year.

"These eight players have a great opportunity now to challenge for this title in Glasgow during what promises to be a highly competitive weekend."

Tickets for the Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals are available now from the Braehead Arena Box Office by calling 0844 499 1700 or online via

2016 Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals
Eight Seeded Players

(1) Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
(2) Gary Anderson (Scotland)
(3) Phil Taylor (England)
(4) Dave Chisnall (England)
(5) Adrian Lewis (England)
(6) James Wade (England)
(7) Peter Wright (Scotland)
(8) Raymond van Barneveld (Netherlands)

PDC Order of Merit Qualifiers
Robert Thornton (Scotland)
Michael Smith (England)
Jelle Klaasen (Netherlands)
Mensur Suljovic (Austria)

Global Invitations
Joe Cullen (England)
Daryl Gurney (Northern Ireland)
Max Hopp (Germany)
Kim Huybrechts (Belgium)
Josh Payne (England)
Gerwyn Price (Wales)
Cristo Reyes (Spain)
Benito van de Pas (Netherlands)

Four Qualifiers
To be confirmed Sunday October 23 following PDC Tour Card Holders Qualifier in Barnsley.