Michael van Gerwen put in the performance of the tournament so far as he got off to a brilliant start at the HappyBet European Darts Matchplay at the edel-optics.de Arena in Hamburg.

The World Number One was at his rampant best, averaging 107 and landing 46 per cent of his double attemps as he brushed aside John Henderson 6-2. 

The pair traded the first five legs, but van Gerwen then found his groove and the treble 20 as he stepped up his performance. 

Leading 5-2, the World Champion broke with a stunning 12-dart leg, taking out 128 to seal the victory. 

Peter Wright's impressive form on the European Tour continued as he got off to a flying start in Hamburg.

The UK Open Champion was rampant as he whitewashed Greece's John Michael, averaging 101 and landing 42 per cent of his doubles.

A lovely tops-tops 100 checkout set the tone for 'snakebite' in the opening leg, and he limited Michael to just three attempts at the double throughout on his way to the Third Round. 

James Wade crashed out at the first hurdle of his defence of his European Darts Matchplay title, losing to Kyle Anderson in a turgid display.

Averaging just 71, Wade dissapointed from the off as Anderson broke twice on his way to a 3-1 lead. 

The former UK Open Champion stayed within touching distance as he landed D12 to move to within one leg, but from there his performance faultered. 

Anderson found his form and landed three maximums as he quickly skittled off the remaining three legs for victory and a spot in the Third Round. 

Wade wasn't the only seed sent packing in Hamburg, with Benito van de Pas, Jelle Klaasen and Simon Whitlock also exiting the competition.

Van de Pas was edged out in a last leg decider in a thrilling encounter with Vincent van der Voort.

The pair couldnt be separated after eight legs, and with van de Pas poised for victory at 5-4, van der Voort took out a stunning 118 checkout to level things at 5-5.

He still needed to break in the deciding leg, but did so in style as he fired a ten-darter to clinch the victory.

Meanwhile, Klaasen succumbed to a 6-2 defeat at the hands of Stephen Bunting, who took out checkouts of 117 and 125 on the way, and Simon Whitlock was crushed 6-1 by Andy Hamilton in a brilliant display of consistent finishing. 

Dave Chisnall booked his place in the Third Round as he beat James Wilson 6-4, whilst Mensur Suljovic survived a scare as he clinched three legs in succession to beat Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5. 

Earlier in the day, Mervyn King missed D12 for a nine-dart finish as he beat Richard North 6-2. 

Michael Smith, who won the last European Tour event in Gibraltar, looked in fine form as he brushed aside Mike De Decker 6-1, averaging just under 100 in the process.

Kim Huybrechts was also sent crashing out of the competition as he lost to Peter Hudson in a last-leg decider. Trailing 5-2, the 33-year-old clinched four straight legs to snatch an unlikely victory. 

Joe Cullen also looked in good form as he brushed aside Justin Pipe 6-2. The 27-year-old charged into a 4-0 lead, with Pipe momentarily responding before Cullen raced to victory - landing 56% of his doubles.

Spain's Cristo Reyes was forced to dig deep as he beat Nathan Aspinall 6-5, whilst Daryl Gurney progressed at the expense of Jimmy Hendriks and Alan Norris beat Marko Kantele.

Ian White also booked his place in the third round as he edged out Peter Jacques 6-3.

The HappyBet European Darts Matchplay concludes on Sunday with the Third Round, followed by the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Final. 

PDCTV-HD - www.livepdc.tv for all PDCTV-HD Subscribers Worldwide

Live coverage with faster streams may be available at the following websites:
Bet365 - www.bet365.com - Worldwide
Betfair - www.betfair.com - Brazil, Denmark, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Wales
Betfred - www.betfred.com - England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
bwin - www.bwin.com - Worldwide
Fonbet - www.fonbet.com - Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, Ukraine
HappyBet - www.happybet.com - Germany
Marathonbet - www.betmarathon.com - Belarus, Russian Federation, Spain, Ukraine
Napoleon - www.napoleongames.be - Belgium
Sazka - www.sazka.cz/kurzove-sazky/ - Czech Republic
Unibet - www.unibet.com - Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom.
William Hill - www.williamhill.com - United Kingdom, Ireland, Russia, Spain, Sweden & Germany
Winlinebet - www.winlinebet.ru - Russia

Follow stats throughout the HappyBet European Darts Matchplay via the PDC Live Scores Website

HappyBet European Darts Matchplay
Saturday June 10
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time)

Daryl Gurney 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Alan Norris 6-3 Marko Kantele
Mervyn King 6-2 Richard North
Michael Smith 6-1 Mike de Decker
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Peter Hudson 6-5 Kim Huybrechts 
Ian White 6-3 Peter Jacques
Joe Cullen 6-2 Justin Pipe

Saturday June 10
Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time)

Andy Hamilton 6-1 Simon Whitlock
Dave Chisnall 6-4 James Wilson
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Kyle Anderson 6-2 James Wade 
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Jelle Klaasen 
Peter Wright 6-0 John Michael
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Benito van de Pas 
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 John Henderson