TEENAGER Rusty-Jake Rodriguez made a dream debut on the PDC European Tour as one of three home players to win through the Austrian Darts Open first round on Friday alongside Zoran Lerchbacher and Christian Kallinger.

The youngest of three brothers competing in the event after the trio won through Thursday's Host Nation Qualifier in Schwechat, Vienna, Rusty-Jake defied the disappointment of seeing elder siblings Rowby-John and Roxy-James knocked out to delight the Multiversum crowd.

Rodriguez did find himself 2-1 down to Ritchie Edhouse in the opening stages of their first round clash, but reeled off five straight legs - including a 100 finish - to seal a famous win.

The 16-year-old will now progress to face two-time European Tour event winner Kim Huybrechts in Saturday's second round, as the 16 seeded players enter the fray.

Earlier, former World Youth Championship finalist Rowby-John had lost out 6-4 to German youngster Martin Schindler - who came from 3-2 down to claim victory - while Roxy-James was swept aside 6-1 by Welsh qualifier Jonny Clayton.

However, two-time World Championship qualifier Zoran Lerchbacher celebrated a 6-4 win over Lee Bryant as he secured his place in the second round, meaning that he now meets former European Tour event winner Mervyn King on Saturday.

Austria's Christian Kallinger marked his first European Tour appearance for four years with a 6-3 win over Wayne Jones, moving him through to play World Champion and top seed Michael van Gerwen in the second round.

Former Austrian Darts Open champion Vincent van der Voort posted the day's highest average of 101.86 in a brilliant 6-3 win over Tony Newell, who took out 144 and 125 in defeat in Vienna.

Fast-emerging Rob Cross - a quarter-finalist three times on the European Tour this year - came from 4-2 down to defeat Andy Jenkins 6-4, and now meets Jelle Klaasen in Saturday's second round.

Jamie Lewis edged out Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 in a tight contest, hitting a 180 in a 13-darter in the deciding leg as he moves through to take on Joe Cullen in round two.

Chris Dobey's 6-1 win over David Pallett means that he now plays Stephen Bunting, while Scottish ace John Henderson's 6-2 defeat of Dirk van Duijvenbode sets him up for a second round clash with another Dutchman, Benito van de Pas.

Dutchman Vincent van der Meer won the battle of European Tour debutants with Adrian Gray, hitting three 180s in a 6-3 victory over the former World Grand Prix quarter-finalist.

Chris Quantock came from 2-0 down to defeat Paul Rowley 6-4 as he set up a second round tie with May's Gibraltar Darts Trophy winner Michael Smith on Saturday.

Scottish qualifier Jamie Bain impressed with a 99 average as he defeated Christian Kist 6-1, moving through to meet Alan Norris in round two.

Rene Eidams punished Justin Pipe for a missed match dart as the German ace came from 5-3 down to take victory in their clash, with a 13-darter in the deciding leg moving him through to a meeting with Cristo Reyes.

Belgian ace Ronny Huybrechts also claimed victory from 5-3 down as he edged out James Wilson to set up a second round tie with Austrian number one Mensur Suljovic.

Finland's Kim Viljanen was another 11-leg winner as he edged out Polish qualifier Krzysztof Ratajski, who paid the price for missing one match dart as the PDCNB qualifier moves through to play Peter Wright.

Following Saturday's second round at the Multiversum in Schwechat, the £135,000 tournament concludes on Sunday with the third round in the afternoon session and the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session.

Fans can follow live scores and stats in our Match Centre via THIS LINK.

Watch via PDCTV-HD through THIS LINK.

Austrian Darts Open
Friday June 23
First Round
Afternoon Session
Vincent van der Meer 6-3 Adrian Gray
Chris Quantock 6-4 Paul Rowley
Jamie Bain 6-1 Christian Kist
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Lee Bryant
Rene Eidams 6-5 Justin Pipe
Ronny Huybrechts 6-5 James Wilson
Kim Viljanen 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Christian Kallinger 6-3 Wayne Jones

Evening Session
John Henderson 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Martin Schindler 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Tony Newell
Chris Dobey 6-1 David Pallett
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Roxy-James Rodriguez
Rob Cross 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse


All games are the best of 11 legs

To watch via PDCTV-HD, simply login using THIS LINK.

Live coverage with faster streams may be available at the following Bookmakers’ websites:
Bet365 - www.bet365.com - Worldwide
Betfair - www.betfair.com - Brazil, Denmark, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Wales
Betfred - www.betfred.com - England, Ireland,www.napoleongames.be Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
bwin - www.bwin.com - Worldwide
Fonbet - www.fonbet.com - Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Russian federation, Ukraine
HappyBet – www.happybet.com - Germany
Marathonbet - www.betmarathon.com - Belarus, Russian Federation, Spain, Ukraine
Napoleon - www.napoleongames.be - Belgium
Nike - www.nike.sk - Slovakia
Sazka - www.sazka.cz/kurzove-sazky/ - Czech Republic
Tempobet - www.tempobet.org - Europe
Tipsport - www.tipsport.cz - Czech Republic & Slovakia
Unibet - www.unibet.com - Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom.
William Hill - www.williamhill.com - United Kingdom, Ireland, Russia, Spain, Sweden & Germany
Winlinebet – www.winlinebet.ru - Russia