BERNIE SMITH has won the DPA Oceanic Masters to secure a spot in the William Hill World Darts Championship.

The New Zealander defeated Tahuna Irwin 6-5 in the final in Dubbo on Sunday as he sealed his spot in the sport's biggest tournament at Alexandra Palace in December.

He overcame Melbourne Darts Masters qualifier Dave Marland, Kalani Hillman, reigning Oceanic Masters champion David Platt and Haupai Puha on his way to the final.

Canterbury's Smith has previously competed in the 2016 Auckland Darts Masters - where he lost to Gary Anderson in round one - and is also a former New Zealand National Champion.

Irwin's run to the final saw him overcome Willy Kimura, 2015 Oceanic Masters winner Koha Kokiri, Dan Kelly and Lucas Cameron, before he was denied a Tv debut in a deciding leg against Smith.

Auckland Darts Masters finalist Corey Cadby's bid to win the title was ended in the last 32 as he lost 6-4 to Andrew Townes, meaning that he would need to retain the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship title in November to qualify for the World Championship.

2017 DPA Oceanic Masters
Macquarie Inn, Dubbo, Sunday October 29
Last 32

Andrew Townes 6-4 Corey Cadby
James Bailey 6-0 Casey Matthews
Haupai Puha 6-4 Graham Ryder
John Bunyard 6-5 Steve Duke Snr
Bernie Smith 6-3 Dave Marland
Kalani Hillman 6-5 Tremaine Gallagher
David Platt 6-2 Craig Ross
Rhys Mathewson 6-4 Chris Jarvis
Lucas Cameron 6-3 Brad Thorp
Barry Gardner 6-3 Clinton Bridge
Quintin Gardner 6-4 Lewis Kirk
Warren French 6-1 Dave Williams
Tahuna Irwin 6-1 Willy Kimura
Koha Kokiri 6-2 Rob Modra
Warren Parry 6-4 Lawrence Ryder
Dan Kelly 6-5 Graeme Lowe

Last 16
Andrew Townes 6-4 James Bailey
Haupai Puha 6-4 John Bunyard
Bernie Smith 6-4 Kalani Hillman
David Platt 6-2 Rhys Mathewson
Lucas Cameron 6-1 Barry Gardner
Warren French 6-2 Quintin Gardner
Tahuna Irwin 6-2 Koha Kokiri
Dan Kelly 6-5 Warren Parry

Haupai Puha 6-3 Andrew Townes
Bernie Smith 6-5 David Platt
Lucas Cameron 6-3 Warren French
Tahuna Irwin 6-3 Dan Kelly

Bernie Smith 6-2 Haupai Puha
Tahuna Irwin 6-3 Lucas Cameron

Bernie Smith 6-5 Tahuna Irwin