Payne & Van den Bergh Set Up World Youth Final

Dimitri Van den Bergh (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

JOSH PAYNE and Dimitri Van den Bergh will contest the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship final on Sunday November 26 after winning through Monday's early rounds in Wigan.

English thrower Payne, 23, will contest his first World Youth Championship final later this month after winning five games as the Last 64 of the £50,000 event played off.

He defeated German teenager Nico Blum 6-4 in his opening match before seeing off Adam Hunt 6-2, defeating Dutch prospect Justin van Tergouw 6-5 and then whitewashing Belgium's Kenny Neyens in the quarter-finals.

Payne then ended Corey Cadby's defence of the World Youth Championship title with a 6-3 triumph over the Australian in the semi-finals, securing his place in the decider.

Payne led Cadby 5-0 before missing three darts for another whitewash win, with the Tasmania-born reigning champion claiming three legs in reply before seeing his rival finally close out the win.

Belgium's Van den Bergh, a three-time winner on the PDC Unicorn Development Tour this year, sealed his place in the final in a tight last four clash with Luke Humphries.

Development Tour Order of Merit winner Humphries - who claimed five titles this year - took out a superb 146 checkout at 5-4 down to level against Van den Bergh, but a missed bullseye in the decider allowed the Belgian back in on tops for the win.

Van den Bergh opened his day with a 6-0 win over Qingyu Zhan, and then defeated Rhys Griffin 6-3, Scott Dale 6-5 and Ted Evetts 6-4 on his way through the field.

Payne and Van den Bergh will now compete for the £10,000 first prize on Sunday November 26 on stage at the Butlins Minehead Resort, with the final being held between the semi-finals and final of the Mr Green Sport Players Championship Finals.

Both players also qualify for the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts, while Payne has the additional incentive of knowing that a place in the 2017/2018 William Hill World Darts Championship is on offer should he win the final, with Van den Bergh already having qualified for Alexandra Palace.

Cadby, meanwhile, had defeated Sam Head, Rusty-Jake Rodriguez, Mike De Decker and Jeffrey de Zwaan on his way to the last four.

Humphries progressed past Rob Hewson, Jarred Cole, Rhys Hayden and Martin Schindler as he sought to follow up his Development Tour success with World Youth Championship glory.

Schindler and De Zwaan were joined in the quarter-finals by Neyens and Evetts, while 2015 World Youth Champion Max Hopp won through to the last 16 before losing out to Neyens.

Top seed Benito van de Pas was a first round casualty as he lost out 6-5 to Dutch rival De Zwaan.

2017 PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship
First Round

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Benito van de Pas (1)
Jordan Christie 6-0 Luke Durham
Christian Bunse 6-4 Maxim Aldoshin
Sven Groen 6-1 Dominik Pundt
Mike De Decker (8) 6-5 Jake Jones
Berry van Peer 6-0 David Medina Puyol
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-5 Brian Raman
Corey Cadby 6-1 Sam Head
Kenny Neyens (5) 6-4 Kevin De Vries
Adam Smith-Neale 6-4 Andrew Davidson
Max Hopp 6-0 Joe Davis
John Brown 6-3 Daniel Jensen
Adam Hunt (4) 6-0 Jarvis Bautista
Josh Payne 6-4 Nico Blum
Justin van Tergouw 6-1 Jack Ryder
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-0 Gergely Lakatos
Luke Humphries (2) 6-2 Rob Hewson
Jarred Cole 6-2 Nathan Rafferty
Kurt Parry 6-4 Steve Lennon
Rhys Hayden 6-2 Man Lok Leung
Mike van Duivenbode (7) 6-3 Kalani Hillman
Martin Schindler 6-3 Lee Budgen
Harry Ward 6-5 Nico Ziemann
Ronnie Roberts 6-1 Dan Read
Ted Evetts (6) 6-2 Conor Mayes
Jimmy Hendriks 6-2 Dawson Murschell
Sam Hewson 6-2 Keifer Durham
Thomas Lovely 6-1 Stephen Rosney
Dimitri Van den Bergh (3) 6-0 Qingyu Zhan
Rhys Griffin 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Geert Nentjes 6-2 Melvin de Fijter
Scott Dale 6-2 Reece Colley

Second Round
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-0 Jordan Christie
Christian Bunse 6-2 Sven Groen
Mike De Decker 6-3 Berry van Peer
Corey Cadby 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Kenny Neyens 6-2 Adam Smith-Neale
Max Hopp 6-1 John Brown
Josh Payne 6-2 Adam Hunt
Justin van Tergouw 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Luke Humphries 6-3 Jarred Cole
Rhys Hayden 6-4 Kurt Parry
Martin Schindler 6-3 Mike van Duivenbode
Ronnie Roberts 6-4 Harry Ward
Ted Evetts 6-3 Jimmy Hendriks
Thomas Lovely 6-3 Sam Hewson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Rhys Griffin
Scott Dale 6-2 Geert Nentjes

Third Round
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-1 Christian Bunse
Corey Cadby 6-4 Mike De Decker
Kenny Neyens 6-2 Max Hopp
Josh Payne 6-5 Justin van Tergouw
Luke Humphries 6-5 Rhys Hayden
Martin Schindler 6-5 Ronnie Roberts
Ted Evetts 6-5 Thomas Lovely
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Scott Dale

Corey Cadby 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Josh Payne 6-0 Kenny Neyens
Luke Humphries 6-3 Martin Schindler
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Ted Evetts

Josh Payne 6-3 Corey Cadby
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Luke Humphries

Josh Payne v Dimitri Van den Bergh
To be played Sunday November 26 at Butlins Minehead Resort, between semi-finals and final of Mr Green Sport Players Championship Finals.

Prize Fund
Winner £10,000 + place in 2017/2018 William Hill World Darts Championship + place in 2018 Grand Slam of Darts
Runner-Up £5,000 + place in 2018 Grand Slam of Darts
Semi-Finalists £2,500
Quarter-Finalists £1,500
Third Round Losers £1,000
Second Round Losers £500
First Round Losers £250
Total £50,000