2017 bwin Grand Slam of Darts Draw

Wolverhampton Civic Hall (PDC)

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN will begin his defence of the bwin Grand Slam of Darts title against Rob Cross, Joe Murnan and Ross Montgomery following the draw for the Group Stage of the cross-code tournament.

The Grand Slam of Darts brings together players from both the PDC and BDO systems to compete across nine days at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall, live on Sky Sports.

Van Gerwen is bidding to claim a third successive Grand Slam of Darts triumph in the £450,000 tournament, with the World Champion and top seed heading Group A.

He will open his title defence against Scottish debutant Ross Montgomery on Saturday, and will also face European Championship finalist Rob Cross and qualifier Joe Murnan in the round-robin phase.

Six-time Grand Slam of Darts winner Phil Taylor, seeded fifth for his final Wolves Civic challenge, has been drawn with two-time finalist James Wade, qualifier Robbie Green and Australia's BDO World Trophy winner Peter Machin in Group D.

UK Open champion Peter Wright, the number two seed, heads arguably the toughest quartet, as he opens up against Lakeside Champion Glen Durrant in a Group B which also features Alan Norris and 2016 World Youth Champion Corey Cadby.

2012 Grand Slam of Darts winner Raymond van Barneveld is joined in Group B by UK Open finalist Gerwyn Price, Irish debutant Steve Lennon and Tipton's Jamie Hughes, who is competing in his "local" event for a second straight year.

World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney, the fourth seed, heads Group D alongside Darren Webster, Mark Webster and Danny Noppert, the Dutch ace who impressed on his Grand Slam debut 12 months ago before reaching the Lakeside Championship final.

Two-time World Champion Gary Anderson, seeded third, opens up against Scottish debutant Cameron Menzies and will also face Australia's Simon Whitlock and Dutch youngster Berry van Peer in Group H.

September's Champions League of Darts winner Mensur Suljovic heads Group G alongside former Wolverhampton semi-finalist Michael Smith, James Wilson and BDO number one Mark McGeeney.

2014 Grand Slam runner-up Dave Chisnall, seeded seventh, is joined in Group F by former Lakeside Champions Stephen Bunting and Scott Mitchell and Dutch youngster Jeffrey de Zwaan.

The opening group matches will be held on Saturday November 11, with play across two sessions at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall.

Sunday November 12 sees the second group games, with Saturday's winning players facing each other and the losing players also playing.

The final group games will then be held on Monday and Tuesday, with the top two players from each group then progressing to the knockout stage from the last 16 onwards.

Tickets for the bwin Grand Slam of Darts are available through www.wolvescivic.co.uk or by calling 0870 320 7000.

2017 bwin Grand Slam of Darts
Group A

(1) Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross
Joe Murnan
Ross Montgomery

Group B
(8) Raymond van Barneveld
Gerwyn Price
Steve Lennon
Jamie Hughes

Group C
(5) Phil Taylor
James Wade
Robbie Green
Peter Machin

Group D
(4) Daryl Gurney
Darren Webster
Mark Webster
Danny Noppert

Group E
(2) Peter Wright
Alan Norris
Corey Cadby
Glen Durrant

Group F
(7) Dave Chisnall
Stephen Bunting
Jeffrey de Zwaan
Scott Mitchell

Group G
(6) Mensur Suljovic
Michael Smith
James Wilson
Mark McGeeney

Group H
(3) Gary Anderson
Simon Whitlock
Berry van Peer
Cameron Menzies

The draw was broadcast through Facebook Live and made by PDC Chairman Barry Hearn

Schedule of Play
Saturday November 11
Afternoon Session (1pm)

8x E-H Group Matches
Michael Smith v James Wilson (G)
Stephen Bunting v Jeffrey de Zwaan (F)
Simon Whitlock v Berry van Peer (H)
Alan Norris v Corey Cadby (E)
Dave Chisnall v Scott Mitchell (F)
Mensur Suljovic v Mark McGeeney (G)
Gary Anderson v Cameron Menzies (H)
Peter Wright v Glen Durrant (E)

Evening Session (8pm)
8x A-D Group Matches
Gerwyn Price v Steve Lennon (B)
James Wade v Robbie Green (C)
Darren Webster v Mark Webster (D)
Rob Cross v Joe Murnan (A)
Phil Taylor v Peter Machin (C)
Michael van Gerwen v Ross Montgomery (A)
Raymond van Barneveld v Jamie Hughes (B)
Daryl Gurney v Danny Noppert (D)

Sunday November 12
Afternoon Session (1pm)

8x E-H Group Matches

Evening Session (7pm)
8x A-D Group Matches

Monday November 13 (7pm)
8x E-H Group Matches

Tuesday November 14 (7pm)
8x A-D Group Matches

Wednesday November 15 (7pm)
Second Round x4

Thursday November 16 (7pm)
Second Round x4

Friday November 17 (7pm)
Quarter-Finals x2

Saturday November 18 (8pm)
Quarter-Finals x2

Sunday November 19
Afternoon Session (1pm)


Evening Session (7pm)

Pool Two
1 Michael Smith
2 Simon Whitlock
3 James Wade
4 Alan Norris
5 Gerwyn Price
6 Stephen Bunting
7 Rob Cross
8 Darren Webster

Pool Three
1 Mark Webster
2 James Wilson
3 Robbie Green
4 Joe Murnan
5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
6 Berry van Peer
7 Steve Lennon
8 Corey Cadby

Pool Four
1 Mark McGeeney
2 Glen Durrant
3 Jamie Hughes
4 Scott Mitchell
5 Ross Montgomery
6 Cameron Menzies
7 Danny Noppert
8 Peter Machin