talkSPORT, the world’s biggest sports radio station, has secured exclusive UK radio rights for the 2017/2018 William Hill World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace.

There will be updates from every session across the first round, as sporting legend Phil 'The Power' Taylor attempts to win an unprecedented 17th World Championship title in what will be his last-ever professional event and reigning champion Michael van Gerwen bids for a hat-trick of titles at the iconic North London venue

talkSPORT 2 will then have full commentary from Thursday 21 December up to the quarter-finals on Friday 29 December before coverage switches to talkSPORT for the semi-finals on Saturday 30 December and final on Monday 1 January respectively.

The talkSPORT and talkSPORT 2 team includes presenters Ray Stubbs and Andy Goldstein, former darts stars Colin Lloyd and Bobby George as well as respected commentators Nigel Pearson, Jim Proudfoot and John Gwynne.

Liam Fisher, Wireless Group National Controller, said: “Few sporting arenas can match the Ally Pally in December for the PDC World Championship Darts. It’s a privilege to bring one of the biggest sporting events of the Christmas period to the talkSPORT and talkSPORT 2 audience.

“With so much live football, racing, rugby, NFL and now darts over Christmas and the New Year, there’s only one place to go for your festive fix of sport."

PDC Chairman Barry Hearn said: "It's great to welcome talkSPORT on board to cover the William Hill World Darts Championship through both talkSPORT and talkSPORT 2.

"talkSPORT have always been great supporters of darts and this deal will be a fantastic addition to their festive schedules and a boost for darts fans across the UK, who will be able to listen to full coverage of the latter stages of the biggest event in the sport."

For full details of how to listen live to talkSPORT and talkSPORT 2, visit or follow @talkSPORT and @talkSPORT2 on Twitter.

Broadcast Timings
• Thursday 21 December, coverage from 7pm
• Friday 22 December, 12.30pm and 7pm
• Saturday 23 December, 7pm
• Wednesday 27 December, 12.30pm and 7pm
• Thursday 28 December, 12.30pm and 7pm
• Friday 29 December, 12.30pm and 7pm (quarter-finals)
• Saturday 30 December, coverage from 7pm, play starts at 7.30pm (semi-finals, talkSPORT)
• Monday 1 January, coverage from 7pm, play starts at 8pm (the final, talkSPORT)