JAN DEKKER delighted the home crowd at the Dutch Darts Masters with a 6-4 win over two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis as the European Tour event in Zwolle began on Friday.

Dekker had won through the Host Nation Qualifier 24 hours earlier to secure his spot in the £135,000 event, and rose to the occasion against the decorated Englishman.

Lewis had come from behind to lead 3-2, but an 11-darter from Dekker levelled before he moved 5-3 up, and he sealed the win with a 13-dart finish.

"It's a great win," said Dekker, who now plays Simon Whitlock in Saturday's second round. "In the beginning I didn't play well but at the end of the day I played okay.

"I'm so proud to play here for the Dutch crowd, and I'm over the moon at the moment."

James Wade's bid to follow up last week's run to the European Darts Grand Prix final with further success was ended at the first hurdle in Zwolle as he lost out 6-3 to Cristo Reyes.

The Spanish ace, who now plays Daryl Gurney, took four of the opening five legs to assume control as he booked his spot in round two.

Josh Payne came through a remarkable 11-leg contest with Jonny Clayton, surviving a missed match dart before progressing to a tie with Mensur Suljovic.

Austrian Darts Open winner Clayton led 2-0, 3-1 and 4-2 before Payne hit back to level and then took out 116 on the bull to move 5-4 up.

Clayton forced a decider, but missed double 12 for a 141 checkout to snatch the win before Payne landed double ten for a narrow triumph.

Veteran star Terry Jenkins will lock horns once more with reigning champion Michael van Gerwen in Saturday's second round, after overcoming Belgian youngster Mike De Decker 6-2.

2017 Dutch Darts Masters finalist Steve Beaton survived missed match darts from Jeffrey de Graaf before he progressed to play Darren Webster with a narrow 6-5 win.

Stephen Bunting set up an all-St Helens tie in round two against Michael Smith with a comfortable 6-1 win over German qualifier Tobias Mueller.

Krzysztof Ratajski enjoyed his first European Tour win of 2018 with a 6-2 success against Ricky Evans, as the Polish star progresses to meet home favourite Jelle Klaasen.

Cameron Menzies set up a second round tie with Dave Chisnall courtesy of a 6-1 win over Kevin Munch, who took out 112 to claim his only leg of a one-sided contest.

Wayne Jones produced a vintage display on the IJsselhallen stage in Zwolle with a first round win as the Dutch Darts Masters began on Friday.

Jones rolled back the years with a superb 101.32 average as he overcame Jamie Lewis 6-5 to progress to round two of the £135,000 tournament.

The Wolverhampton thrower fired in three 180s and a 106 checkout en route to victory, and he will now face Kim Huybrechts on Saturday afternoon.

Jermaine Wattimena also gave the home crowd something to cheer with a 6-3 triumph over European Tour debutant Adam Huckvale.

The fast-throwing Host Nation Qualifier was made to work hard for the win by Huckvale, and he will now take on Joe Cullen in round two.

James Wilson produced the second ton-plus average of the afternoon in his 6-2 victory over Johan Engstrom.

Wilson threw a 101.59 average to book his place in the second day of action, where he will come up against second seed Peter Wright.

Kyle Anderson hit five maximums en route to a comfortable 6-3 win over Christian Kist in the final game of the afternoon, and the Australian star will now take on Ian White in round two.

Steve Lennon held his nerve in a tense last-leg decider against Rowby-John Rodriguez to seal a 6-5 win.

The Irish ace goes straight through to Sunday's last 16 after World Champion Rob Cross withdrew on medical grounds.

Ryan Joyce produced a stunning comeback in the opening game of the afternoon as he fought from 5-1 down to beat Michael Rosenauer 6-5.

The European Tour debutant will now face the challenge of Mervyn King in round two.

Dragutin Horvat edged out Toni Alcinas 6-5 to progress to the second day of action, where he will take on Gerwyn Price.

James Richardson overcame Jason Cullen 6-4, and he will meet John Henderson in the second round.

Saturday's second round action sees the 16 seeded players enter the tournament, with coverage to be streamed from 1.15pm and 7.15pm local time.

The Dutch Darts Masters will be broadcast throughout the weekend for PDCTV-HD Subscribers , and through a series of bookmakers' websites worldwide.

Click here to read Cross Withdraws From Zwolle Event

2018 Dutch Darts Masters
Friday May 11
First Round
Afternoon Session
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Michael Rosenauer
Dragutin Horvat 6-5 Toni Alcinas
James Richardson 6-4 Jason Cullen
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Adam Huckvale
Wayne Jones 6-1 Jamie Lewis
James Wilson 6-2 Johan Engstrom
Steve Lennon 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Christian Kist

Evening Session
Cameron Menzies 6-1 Kevin Munch
Terry Jenkins 6-2 Mike De Decker
Steve Beaton 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Tobias Mueller
Josh Payne 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Ricky Evans
Jan Dekker 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Cristo Reyes 6-3 James Wade

Saturday May 12
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1.15pm local time, 12.15pm BST)
Kim Huybrechts v Wayne Jones
John Henderson v James Richardson
Gerwyn Price v Dragutin Horvat
Mervyn King v Ryan Joyce
Joe Cullen v Jermaine Wattimena
Dave Chisnall v Cameron Menzies
Ian White v Kyle Anderson

Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)
Simon Whitlock v Jan Dekker
Mensur Suljovic v Josh Payne
Michael Smith v Stephen Bunting
Peter Wright v James Wilson
Jelle Klaasen v Krzysztof Ratajski
Daryl Gurney v Cristo Reyes
Michael van Gerwen v Terry Jenkins
Darren Webster v Steve Beaton
Bye - Steve Lennon (Rob Cross withdrew)

PDC European Tour events can be watched online by all PDCTV-HD Subscribers worldwide - click here to visit PDCTV-HD.

Live coverage with faster streams may also be available at the following bookmakers' websites:
bet365 - www.bet365.com - Worldwide
Bet90 - www.bet90.com - Brazil, Germany
Betfair - www.betfair.com - Brazil, Denmark, England, Ireland, Northern ireland, Scotland, Spain, Wales
Betfred - www.betfred.com - England, Ireland, Northern ireland, Scotland, Wales
bwin - www.bwin.com - Worldwide
Fonbet - www.fonbet.com - Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Russian federation, Ukraine
Ligastavok - www.ligastavok.ru/ - Russia
Marathonbet - www.betmarathon.com - Belarus, Russian federation, Spain, Ukraine
Napoleonbet - www.en-gb.sports.napoleongames.be - Belgium
Nike - www.nike.sk - Slovakia
Olimp - www.betolimp.com - Kazakhstan, Russian federation
Paddy Power - www.paddypower.com/ - England, Ireland, Northern ireland, Scotland, Wales
Stoiximan - www.stoiximan.gr - Cyprus, Greece, Romania
Superbet - www.superbet.ro/ - Romania, Poland
Tempobet - www.tempobet.org - Europe
Totogaming - www.totogaming.am/en/ - Armenia
Tipsport - www.tipsport.cz - Czech Republic & Slovakia
Unibet - www.unibet.com - Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom
William Hill - www.williamhill.com - Great Britain, Ireland, Spain
Winlinebet - www.winlinebet.ru - Russia
World Sports Betting - www.worldsportsbetting.co.za - Namibia, South Africa