MAX HOPP produced a fine display at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy with a 6-0 whitewash of Mark Dudbridge as the European Tour event began on Friday.

The German number one picked up his first ever European Tour title in April at the German Open, and got off to an impressive start in this weekend’s £135,000 event.

Hopp recorded a 100.20 average, firing in two 180s and pinning six doubles from eight attempts, including a 120 checkout as he set up a round two clash with Ian White.

“It’s a perfect start for me and I’m very happy with my game tonight,” said Hopp.

“I’ve been working a lot on my game, I’ve had some tough times but I’ve always believed in my throw and now I am seeing the results this year.

“I have put in the hard work and prepared well for these events, the European Tour win took a lot of pressure off me.

“I was disappointed to lose to Raymond [van Barneveld] last week at the World Cup but I’ve used it as motivation to make sure I don’t end up in that situation again.”

Paul Nicholson’s return to form continued with a 6-0 whitewash of Gibraltar Host Nation Qualifier Antony Lopez, and he will now face Dave Chisnall in tomorrow’s action.

Another player on the comeback trail is two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis, who also had no trouble in seeing off Gibraltarian youngster Clayton Otton 6-0, and he will now meet sixth seed Mensur Suljovic.

The game of the day saw Spain’s Cristo Reyes beat Robert Thornton 6-5 in a replay of their World Championship round one clash to set up a tie with World Champion Rob Cross.

Northern Ireland’s World Cup of Darts stars Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan will clash in round two after Dolan edged past James Wilson 6-4.

Last year’s Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion Michael Smith will face rapid-firing Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena who cruised past Gibraltar’s Tony Dawkins 6-1.

Fellow-Dutchman Vincent van der Voort saw off Barrie Bates 6-3, and he will now play world number one Michael van Gerwen.

Ross Smith was the last player to hit a nine-dart finish on the European Tour in Gibraltar in 2013, and he was in good form on the Victoria Stadium stage once again as he  6-3 Jamie Lewis, and he will now meet former Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion James Wade.

Chris Dobey produced an impressive 6-2 win over Dutch Darts Masters finalist Steve Lennon to set up a round two tie with Mervyn King.

Adam Huckvale recorded his first ever European Tour win with a 6-3 triumph over Richie Burnett, and he will now face Simon Whitlock.

Another first-time winner on the European Tour was Hannes Schnier who beat Gibraltar’s Roy Asquez 6-2 to set up a clash with Jonny Clayton.

The opening game of the day saw Michael Barnard beat Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 and he will now face third see Peter Wright, while Darius Labanauskas produced a strong display to beat Jeffrey de Graaf 6-4, and the Lithuanian will now meet Joe Cullen.

Mike De Decker recorded a 6-5 win against Matt Padgett to set up a second round tie with Gerwyn Price, Andy Boulton also won an 11-leg shootout against Ritchie Edhouse and he will now play Stephen Bunting.

Steve West beat Spanish World Cup star Toni Alcinas 6-3, and he will now play Darren Webster in the second round.

Saturday's second round action sees the 16 seeded players enter the tournament, with coverage to be streamed from 1.15pm and 7.15pm local time.

The Gibraltar Darts Trophy will be broadcast throughout the weekend for PDCTV-HD Subscribers, and through a series of bookmakers' websites worldwide.

2018 Gibraltar Darts Trophy
Draw Bracket

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Barrie Bates/Vincent van der Voort
Stephen Bunting (16) v Andy Boulton/Ritchie Edhouse
Jonny Clayton (8) v Hannes Schnier/Roy Asquez
Ian White (9) v Mark Dudbridge/Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney (5) v Brendan Dolan/James Wilson
Darren Webster (12) v Toni Alcinas/Steve West
Rob Cross (4) v Robert Thornton/Cristo Reyes
Simon Whitlock (13) v Adam Huckvale/Richie Burnett
Michael Smith (2) v Jermaine Wattimena/Tony Dawkins
Gerwyn Price (15) v Matt Padgett/Mike De Decker
Joe Cullen (7) v Jeffrey de Graaf/Darius Labanauskas
Dave Chisnall (10) v Paul Nicholson/Antony Lopez
Mensur Suljovic (6) v Adrian Lewis/Clayton Otton
James Wade (11) v Jamie Lewis/Ross Smith
Peter Wright (3) Krzysztof Ratajski/Michael Barnard
Mervyn King (14) v Chris Dobey/Steve Lennon

Schedule of Play
Friday June 8
First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Michael Barnard 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf
Brendan Dolan 6-4 James Wilson
Mike De Decker 6-5 Matt Padgett
Andy Boulton 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Hannes Schnier 6-2 Roy Asquez
Steve West 6-3 Toni Alcinas
Ross Smith 6-3 Jamie Lewis

Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)
Adam Huckvale 6-3 Richie Burnett
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Robert Thornton
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Barrie Bates
Paul Nicholson 6-0 Antony Lopez
Max Hopp 6-0 Mark Dudbridge
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Tony Dawkins
Chris Dobey 6-2 Steve Lennon
Adrian Lewis 6-0 Clayton Otton

Saturday June 9
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)
Stephen Bunting v Andy Boulton
Gerwyn Price v Mike De Decker
Darren Webster v Steve West
James Wade v Ross Smith
Simon Whitlock v Adam Huckvale
Jonny Clayton v Hannes Schnier
Ian White v Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney v Brendan Dolan

Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)
Joe Cullen v Darius Labanauskas
Michael Smith v Jermaine Wattimena
Rob Cross v Cristo Reyes
Michael van Gerwen v Vincent van der Voort
Dave Chisnall v Paul Nicholson
Mensur Suljovic v Adrian Lewis
Mervyn King v Chris Dobey
Peter Wright v Michael Barnard

Sunday June 10
Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)
Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order

Format - All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

PDC European Tour events can be watched online by all PDCTV-HD Subscribers worldwide - click here to visit PDCTV-HD.

Live coverage with faster streams may also be available at the following bookmakers' websites:
bet365 - - Worldwide
Bet90 - - Brazil, Germany
Betfair - - Brazil, Denmark, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Wales
Betfred - - England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
bwin - - Worldwide
Fonbet - - Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Russian federation, Ukraine
Ligastavok - - Russia
Marathonbet - - Belarus, Russian federation, Spain, Ukraine
Napoleonbet - - Belgium
Nike - - Slovakia
Olimp - - Kazakhstan, Russian federation
Paddy Power - - England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
Stoiximan - - Cyprus, Greece, Romania
Superbet - - Romania, Poland
Tempobet - - Europe
Totogaming - - Armenia
Tipsport - - Czech Republic & Slovakia
Unibet - - Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom
William Hill - - Great Britain, Ireland, Spain
Winlinebet - - Russia
World Sports Betting - - Namibia, South Africa