MERVYN KING claimed his first PDC title in almost four years with a 6-2 win over James Wade in the final of Players Championship 15 at The Barnsley Metrodome on Tuesday.

Having last tasted victory at the European Darts Grand Prix in September 2014, King produced a stunning 105.2 average to run out a comfortable winner in his first ProTour final of the year.

King recorded wins over Simon Preston, Matthew Edgar, Rowby-John Rodriguez, Robert Marijanovic, Ian White, Mark Webster and Wade en route to clinching the £10,000 top prize.

“It’s a massive day for me, I’m really happy with that result,” said King, who reached the quarter-finals of the Danish Darts Open last weekend.

“James is a fantastic player and a great friend who gives me a lot of advice in life and darts, so I knew I would have to play well to beat him.

King (PDC)

There’s a bit more left in the tank but I’m really happy with how today went

King took out a magnificent 127 finish to break throw in the opening leg, before Wade broke back straight away with a stunning 126 checkout on the bull.

The world number 21 found double two with his last dart in hand to break the Wade throw for a second time, and then pinged double four to extend his lead to 3-1.

Wade found his favourite double 10 to reduce the deficit to one leg, before King rattled off the final three legs, including a magnificent 104 finish, to seal a sixth career Players Championship title.

Wade (PDC)

Despite defeat in the final, it was a positive day for Wade who won through to his third ranking final of 2018 and produced three ton-plus averages over the course of the event.

The former World Matchplay champion defeated Ryan Joyce, Robert Thornton, Paul Rowley, Chris Dobey, Rob Cross and Steve Beaton as he went close to racking up a 12th Players Championship win of his career.

Elsewhere, world number two Peter Wright was defeated by Robert Marijanovic in round three, while Daryl Gurney lost to Beaton in the last 16.

Simon Whitlock suffered a second round exit at the hands of Prakash Jiwa, Dave Chisnall also went down to Devon Petersen at the second round stage and Michael Smith lost to Beaton in the quarter-finals.

The Players Championship mid-week action will continue tomorrow with Players Championship 16 at The Barnsley Metrodome and will be streamed live on PDCTV-HD.

See full Players Championship 15 results in the Match Centre.

Players Championship 15
Tuesday June 26, The Barnsley Metrodome
Last 16

Mervyn King 6-3 Robert Marijanovic
Ian White 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Mark Webster 6-2 Stephen Burton
Jarred Cole 6-3 Adam Hunt
Rob Cross 6-2 Stephen Bunting
James Wade 6-3 Chris Dobey
Steve Beaton 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Michael Smith 6-4 John Henderson

Mervyn King 6-4 Ian White
Mark Webster 6-4 Jarred Cole
James Wade 6-3 Rob Cross
Steve Beaton 6-3 Michael Smith

Mervyn King 6-3 Mark Webster
James Wade 6-4 Steve Beaton

Mervyn King 6-2 James Wade