IAN WHITE secured his second PDC title of the year with a 6-3 win over Darren Webster in the final of Players Championship 16 at The Barnsley Metrodome on Wednesday.

A winner at Players Championship Six in Milton Keynes in March, White ran out a comfortable winner over Webster in his third ProTour final of 2018.

White Defeated Martin Schindler, Ted Evetts, Steve Lennon, Bradley Brooks, Steve Beaton and Webster en route to clinching the £10,000 top prize.

“I’m delighted with the win and how I played overall today,” said White, who threw four ton-plus averages over the course of the day.

White (PDC)

I’d say I’m in the top five on the floor

“Now I need to replicate that form on TV, but the main thing for me is to keep enjoying it and playing well.”

White struck the first break of throw in the match to move into a 2-1 lead, and then threw seven perfect darts to start the next leg before eventually hitting double eight to open up a two-leg cushion.

A superb 11-dart leg from broke the Webster throw once again as the Stoke thrower moved into a commanding 4-1 lead, but Webster found double ten to break straight back and stay in the contest.

White hit a crucial double eight with his last dart in hand to break the Webster throw once again and go within a leg of victory.

The Norwich ace survived three match darts and then hit double seven to stay alive, only for White to throw a 15-dart leg and seal a ninth career Players Championship title.

Webster (PDC)

Webster was also pleased with his day’s work, as he won through to his second ProTour final of the year and threw a 105.7 average in his Last 32 tie with Richie Burnett.

The 2016 Players Championship Finals semi-finalist defeated Tony Newell, Gary Eastwood, Burnett, Michael Barnard, Danny Noppert and Adrian Lewis as he came close to winning a second ProTour title of his career.

Lewis (PDC)

Earlier in the day, two-time World Champion Lewis threw a perfect nine-dart leg in his Last 16 win over Daryl Gurney.

Elsewhere, world number two Peter Wright was defeated by 18-year-old Brooks, whose run to the quarter-finals was his best performance in a ProTour event.

World Champion Rob Cross lost to Brendan Dolan in round three, while Simon Whitlock suffered a first round exit at the hands of Jamie Lewis.

Dave Chisnall lost to Beaton in the quarter-finals, Michael Smith was defeated by Andrew Gilding in the third round and yesterday’s runner-up James Wade also went out in round three to Michael Barnard.

The next Players Championship events will be held on September 4-5 at The Barnsley Metrodome and will be streamed live on PDCTV-HD across both days.

See full Players Championship 16 results in the Match Centre.

Players Championship 16
Wednesday June 27, The Barnsley Metrodome
Last 16

Bradley Brooks 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Ian White 6-3 Keegan Brown
Steve Beaton 6-2 Joe Cullen
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Yordi Meeuwisse
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Darren Webster 6-2 Michael Barnard
Danny Noppert 6-4 Andrew Gilding

Ian White 6-4 Bradley Brooks
Steve Beaton 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Darren Webster 6-3 Danny Noppert

Ian White 6-3 Steve Beaton
Darren Webster 6-5 Adrian Lewis

Ian White 6-3 Darren Webster