McGowan & Burness Reach Irish Decider

Mick McGowan (PDC)

MICK McGOWAN and Kevin Burness will compete for a place in the William Hill World Darts Championship next month after reaching the Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay final.

Saturday saw the early rounds of the annual championship in Tramore take place as players from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland began the challenge for the top domestic honour.

Two-time champion McGowan remains on course to recapture the title he previously won in 2015 and 2016 as he won through to the decider.

Newtownards-based Burness, 52, surpassed his run to the 2012 semi-finals as he progressed to face McGowan at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday October 6.

The Irish Matchplay final will be held ahead of the Unibet World Grand Prix final on stage at the Citywest Hotel, with the winner progressing to the World Championship.

Tickets to watch the Unibet World Grand Prix and Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay final are still available - click here to purchase.

The weekend in Tramore also featured a qualifier for the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship, with Jack Faragher and Keane Barry securing places in that event in November.

2018 Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Championship
Last 16

Keith Geraghty 5-4 John O'Shea
Damien O'Driscoll 5-2 Shane McGuirk
Andrew Dempsey 5-2 Jason Waters
Kevin Burness 5-3 Jason Delahunty
Mick McGowan 5-2 James Lynch
Michael Flynn 5-0 Dean Forde
Stewie Comerford 5-2 Paddy Meaney
Darren Clifford 5-4 Dean Finn

Damien O'Driscoll 5-2 Keith Geraghty
Kevin Burness 5-1 Andrew Dempsey
Mick McGowan 5-4 Michael Flynn
Darren Clifford 5-1 Stewie Comerford

Kevin Burness 6-1 Damien O'Driscoll
Mick McGowan 6-3 Darren Clifford

Kevin Burness v Mick McGowan
Best of 11 legs
Played on stage before Unibet World Grand Prix final on Saturday October 6 (approx 7.10pm)

PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Qualifier

Jack Faragher 4-1 Robyn Byrne
Stephen Rosney 4-3 Ciaran Teehan
Keane Barry 4-1 Andrew Ryan
Shane McGuirk 4-1 Dylan Powell

Jack Faragher 5-3 Stephen Rosney
Keane Barry 5-2 Shane McGuirk