MICHAEL VAN GERWEN is the odds-on favourite to win the Unibet European Championship title as the Dutchman aims for a fifth straight success.

The reigning champion is unbeaten in the European Championship since beginning his winning streak in 2014.

Van Gerwen will be the top seed going into this year's tournament, which will be held from October 25-28 at the Westfalenhalle in Dortmund, live on ITV4.

The Dutch star is Unibet's 8/11 pre-tournament favourite to take the £100,000 title ahead of 15/2 second favourite Mensur Suljovic, who lines up in the opposite half of the draw.

World number two Peter Wright is the 9/1 third favourite, with World Champion Rob Cross, last year's European Championship finalist, an 11/1 chance to go all the way this time around.

Shanghai Darts Masters winner Michael Smith is 18/1, with Daryl Gurney (25/1) and James Wade (28/1) also amongst the leading contenders in the odds.

Tournament favourite Van Gerwen has been enhanced to Even Money with Unibet for bets of £25 or above - having justified his odds-on status at the recent Unibet World Grand Prix with another title triumph.

2018 Unibet European Championship
Outright Winner Odds

8/11 Michael van Gerwen
15/2 Mensur Suljovic
9/1 Peter Wright
11/1 Rob Cross
18/1 Michael Smith
25/1 Daryl Gurney
28/1 James Wade
33/1 Adrian Lewis, Gerwyn Price
40/1 Dave Chisnall, Ian White
50/1 Simon Whitlock
66/1 Joe Cullen, James Wilson
80/1 Darren Webster
100/1 Danny Noppert
125/1 Steve Beaton, Stephen Bunting, Ricky Evans, Max Hopp, Martin Schindler, Jermaine Wattimena, Steve West
150/1 Kyle Anderson, Jonny Clayton, Jelle Klaasen, Richard North, William O'Connor
200/1 Mervyn King, Steve Lennon, Cristo Reyes
300/1 Paul Nicholson
Each-Way Terms 1/2 1-2

First Round Match Odds
1/16 Michael van Gerwen v 17/2 Paul Nicholson
8/11 Steve West v 11/10 Mervyn King
4/6 Simon Whitlock v 6/5 Steve Beaton
3/10 Peter Wright v 5/2 Jermaine Wattimena
8/15 Joe Cullen v 6/4 Jelle Klaasen
3/10 Michael Smith v 5/2 Steve Lennon
4/9 Ian White v 15/8 Richard North
1/3 Rob Cross v 9/4 Danny Noppert
1/4 Mensur Suljovic v 3/1 Cristo Reyes
4/5 Darren Webster v Evens Stephen Bunting
4/6 Max Hopp v 11/8 William O'Connor
6/5 Jonny Clayton v 4/6 James Wilson
1/2 James Wade v 6/4 Martin Schindler
4/9 Daryl Gurney v 15/8 Ricky Evans
8/15 Gerwyn Price v 6/4 Kyle Anderson
10/11 Adrian Lewis v 10/11 Dave Chisnall

Odds courtesy www.unibet.co.uk and correct at time of writing. Subject to fluctuation. Please gamble responsibly.