WITH tickets for the 2019 Unibet Premier League now on GENERAL SALE, we take a look back at the tournament's top five debutants.

The ten-player tournament will be held across 17 nights from February-May, featuring events in the UK, Ireland, Netherlands and Germany, with tickets now on GENERAL SALE.

Our list of the top five debutants to star in the Premier League does not include the seven players to have featured in the inaugural tournament in 2005.

Simon Whitlock (PDC)

5. Simon Whitlock - 2010

Having reached the final of the 2010 World Championship, Simon Whitlock burst onto the Premier League scene in 2010, accompanied by a slouch hat, a cork hat to throw into the crowd and on one occasion an inflatable crocodile!

Once on the oche, the Australian was quick to make his mark, landing a trademark 170 checkout - the highest of the competition - en route to a second-placed finish before losing out to James Wade in the Play-Offs semi-finals.

4. Raymond van Barneveld - 2006

In his 2006 debut campaign, Raymond van Barneveld wasted no time in lighting up the Premier League as he landed the tournament's first perfect leg in an 8-3 win over Peter Manley.

Night Five of the second year of the event in Bournemouth also saw Van Barneveld face Phil Taylor for the first time since his switch to the PDC, a thrilling match which ended in a 7–7 draw.

James Wade (PDC)

3. James Wade - 2008

New kid on the block James Wade enjoyed a sensational 2007 season, picking up the World Matchplay and World Grand Prix titles to earn a first Premier League selection.

Then 24-year-old Wade stunned the darting world in the opening match of the 2008 tournament, ending Phil Taylor's 44-game winning streak with an 8-6 victory, only for Taylor to gain revenge with victory over Wade in the final.

Gary Anderson (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

2. Gary Anderson - 2011

Gary Anderson's breakthrough in the PDC came at the 2011 World Championship as a sensational run saw him reach the final where he lost out to Adrian Lewis.

Just four months later, The Flying Scotsman became the first player to win the Premier League title on his debut appearance with a 10–4 revenge victory over Lewis, which was the first final to feature neither of the top two players from the group stage.

1. Michael van Gerwen - 2013

Michael van Gerwen followed in Anderson's footsteps in 2013 as he became the second player to win the title on debut, and the first to top the league phase in their first season.

The 2012 World Grand Prix saw the Dutchman claim his first TV title, followed up with runner-up places at the Grand Slam of Darts and the World Championship, gaining him selection for the 2013 Premier League campaign.

Then aged just 23, Van Gerwen lit up the tournament, winning 11 out of 16 matches, including a five-game winning streak, as he booked his place at The O2.

There, Van Gerwen defeated Wade in the semi-finals before a memorable 10-8 win over Phil Taylor which was capped off with a stunning 132 checkout.