2019 PDC Annual Awards Dinner

2019 PDC Awards Dinner (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN was named as the PDC Player of the Year at the 2019 PDC Annual Awards Dinner on Monday night, as the reigning World Champion scooped two trophies at The Dorchester in London.

World number one Van Gerwen enjoyed another incredible year of success throughout 2018, claiming 19 titles before being crowned World Champion for a third time on New Year’s Day.

The 29-year-old won a third consecutive Premier League title, along with victories at The Masters, World Grand Prix and a third World Cup of Darts alongside Raymond van Barneveld.

The Dutchman’s achievements saw him win the prestigious PDC Player of the Year for a fourth year in a row, while he also picked up the ProTour Player of the Year prize in recognition of his consistency throughout the year away from the TV cameras.

2019 PDC Awards Dinner (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

"To win these two awards is a phenomenal achievement, along with winning my third World Championship a few weeks ago," said Van Gerwen.

"Other players are getting better and better every week so I have to be at my best all the time. I love playing darts and I'm going to come back even stronger next year.

"Darts is growing bigger and bigger and is being watched by more and more people around the world, so it's amazing to be World Champion and win this award as the sport continues to grow."

The glittering awards ceremony saw World Matchplay and UK Open champion Gary Anderson rewarded with the Fans’ Player of the Year trophy, following a vote on the PDC’s official website.

The Players’ Player of the Year award went to Michael Smith, whose stunning performances saw him reach the finals of both the World Championship and Premier League before being voted by fellow PDPA members to receive their award.

2019 PDC Awards Dinner (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Luke Humphries was crowned Best Newcomer thanks in part to his sensational run to the quarter-finals of the World Championship which saw him end Rob Cross’ reign as World Champion to end a memorable debut year on the ProTour.

"This is a massive award and shows how far I have come over the last year," said Humphries.

"To beat the reigning World Champion at Alexandra Palace was unreal for me and now my goal is to carry on my development and continue to make a name for myself."

2019 PDC Awards Dinner (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Daryl Gurney’s dramatic comeback win over Van Gerwen in the final of the Players Championship Finals saw the Northern Irishman rewarded with the Best Televised Performance award.

"Around a year ago I was questioning whether I could still play at the top level, but that Players Championship Finals win showed I can still do it," said Gurney.

"For that reason that performance was a huge one for my career and I hope I can add many more titles to my honours list and keep making [my son] young Daryl proud."

2019 PDC Awards Dinner (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Max Hopp, the 22-year-old German Open Champion who also won a Players Championship event in 2018 was named as the PDC Young Player of the Year after breaking into the top 32 for the first time.

2019 PDC Awards Dinner (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

The night also saw PDC Director and two-time World Matchplay Champion Rod Harrington inducted into the PDC Hall of Fame, recognising his immense contribution to the sport.

Harrington played an integral role in the formation of the PDC and, alongside his work as a TV commentator, has since gone on to play a huge part in setting up the European Tour, Challenge Tour and Development Tour systems which have seen a host of players progress in the sport.

"I have to thank everyone for making the PDC what it is today and I am privileged to have played a role in our journey," said Harrington.

"When I stopped playing darts the best thing I ever did was get involved in helping to run the PDC.

"The most important thing we did, and continue to do, is to invest in young players; they are the future of our great sport.

"It's been an incredible journey, I've had ups and downs in my career but when I see what the PDC has become I can say it was all worth it.

"Now I am excited by the future of the company as we continue to grow around the world with more and more players taking up the sport."

The players who achieved a perfect leg in PDC tournaments during 2019 were recognised with places in the PDC Nine-Dart Club, with Anderson and Belgian sensation Van den Bergh’s televised nine-darters earning a commemorative gold pin badge.

Silver pin badges were presented to recognise the 25 perfect legs hit away from the TV cameras on the PDC circuit.

2019 PDC Annual Awards
PDC Nine-Dart Club
Gold Pins:
Gary Anderson, Dimitri Van den Bergh
Silver Pins: Robbie Green, Ian White, Michael van Gerwen (x3), Peter Jacques, John Goldie, Cameron Menzies, Jamie Lewis, Noel Malicdem, Steve Hine, Stephen Bunting, Nathan Aspinall, Dawson Murschell, Dennis Nilsson, Lee Turle, Simon Preston, Adrian Lewis, Vincent van der Voort, James Wade, Krzysztof Ratajski, Rowby-John Rodriguez, George Killington, Peter Hudson, Andrew Gilding, Jimmy Hendriks, Eddie Lovely

ProTour Player of the Year
Winner: Michael van Gerwen
Nominated: Peter Wright, Rob Cross, Ian White

Best Newcomer
Luke Humphries
Nominated: Danny Noppert, Ryan Joyce, Luke Humphries, Gabriel Clemens

Televised Performance of the Year
Winner: Daryl Gurney (Players Championship Finals Final v Michael van Gerwen)
Nominated: Michael van Gerwen (Premier League Final v Michael Smith), Gary Anderson (World Matchplay Quarter-Final v Joe Cullen), Michael Smith (World Championship Semi-Final v Nathan Aspinall), Luke Humphries (World Championship Fourth Round v Rob Cross)

Fans' Player of the Year
Winner: Gary Anderson
Runner-up: Michael van Gerwen

PDPA Players' Player of the Year
Michael Smith
Runner-up: Michael van Gerwen

Young Player of the Year
Winner: Max Hopp
Nominated: Dimitri Van den Bergh, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Luke Humphries

PDC Hall of Fame Inductee
Rod Harrington – PDC Director and two-time World Matchplay Champion

Player of the Year
Michael van Gerwen
Nominated: Gary Anderson, Michael Smith, James Wade