Wade Tops Players Championship OOM

James Wade (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

JAMES WADE'S win in Players Championship 18 has seen him jump to the top of the Players Championship Order of Merit with 12 events remaining this year.

The left-hander claimed his fourth Players Championship title of 2019 on Sunday, scooping the £10,000 top prize by defeating Jose de Sousa in the final.

Wade's success moved him onto £48,500 for the year to top the standings above previous leader Glen Durrant, who has won £40,500 in Players Championship events this year since joining the PDC circuit.

Dave Chisnall, Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton occupy the other spots in the top five, with Saturday's PC17 winner Krzysztof Ratajski now sixth with £29,250 prize money.

With places in the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals up for grabs later this year, players further down the rankings have their eyes on spots in the top 64 to secure spots at the Butlin's Minehead Resort.

Premier League star Mensur Suljovic, former Players Championship Finals semi-finalist Darren Webster, 2016 World Youth Champion Corey Cadby, 2011 World Grand Prix finalist Brendan Dolan and World Cup aces Devon Petersen, Toni Alcinas, Zoran Lerchbacher, Marko Kantele, Boris Koltsov and John Michael are all outside of the top 64 with 12 events remaining.

Weekend Break Packages for the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals are available now via the Butlin's Big Weekends website.

Players Championship Order of Merit (PDC)