Owen amongst latest Rileys Qualifiers

Robert Owen (Chris Dean, PDC)

Former semi-finalist Robert Owen was amongst the latest four qualifiers for the Ladbrokes UK Open through the Rileys Amateur Qualifiers.

Owen won through to the semi-finals in Minehead two years ago in his best-ever display in a televised event, eventually losing out to Corey Cadby to end his UK Open debut.

The Welsh ace will now make his third UK Open appearance next month after winning through Sunday's Rileys Wolverhampton knockout to secure one of the 16 places reserved for amateur qualifiers.

Two-time World Championship qualifier Kevin Burness will compete in his second successive UK Open, with the Northern Irish thrower having won through at Rileys Nottingham on Saturday.

Rhys Hayden won the Rileys South Benfleet knockout to secure his UK Open debut, with the former Lakeside Championship qualifier having previously enjoyed PDC experience on the Development Tour, at Qualifying School and on the Challenge Tour.

Another UK Open debutant next month will be 18-year-old Lewis Williams, who won the Rileys Sheffield Qualifier, defeating Peter Hudson in their final.

The Rileys Amateur Qualifiers conclude on Saturday February 22 with the final five knockouts in Greenock, Harlow, Liverpool, Norwich and London Victoria.


Entry is open to amateur players aged 16 or above on January 1 2020. PDPA Associate Members who did not win a PDC Tour Card at the 2020 Qualifying Schools are entitled to enter the Rileys Amateur Qualifiers. Players are permitted to enter more than one Rileys Amateur Qualifier event.

Matches will be the best of seven legs up to and including the semi-finals, with the final being the best of nine legs. Play will commence at 1230 GMT for each qualifier, with registration from 0900-1130 GMT.

Qualifiers will receive a Rileys shirt to wear during the Ladbrokes UK Open, which begins on Friday March 6. 

2020 Ladbrokes UK Open
Rileys Amateur Qualifiers

Saturday January 25 - London Victoria (Jason Heaver)
Saturday February 1 - Aberdeen (Jamie Clark)
Saturday February 1 - Chester (Adam Huckvale)
Saturday February 1 - Norwich (Kelvin Self)
Saturday February 1 - Wolverhampton (Fallon Sherrock)
Saturday February 8 - Chorlton (Scott Taylor)
Saturday February 8 - Coventry (Adam Smith-Neale)
Saturday February 15 - Nottingham (Kevin Burness)
Saturday February 15 - Sheffield (Lewis Williams)
Saturday February 15 - South Benfleet (Rhys Hayden)
Sunday February 16 - Wolverhampton (Robert Owen)
Saturday February 22 - Greenock
Saturday February 22 - Harlow
Saturday February 22 - Liverpool
Saturday February 22 - Norwich
Saturday February 22 - London Victoria

Full Terms & Conditions can be seen at the Rileys website.
* Please note, Greenock & Wolverhampton dates amended January 3 2020.