Seventh TV nine-darter for Van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Michael van Gerwen achieved his seventh televised nine-darter in the semi-finals of the Ladbrokes UK Open - the second of the weekend in Minehead!

Van Gerwen matched Jonny Clayton's achievement from Saturday evening's sixth round with his perfect leg in the semi-finals against Daryl Gurney.

The Dutchman had already hit a ten-darter in leg three before opening leg six with two 180s and then finishing 141 on double 12 to complete the sport's greatest feat once again.

The world number one has now landed seven in televised events - having most recently hit a nine-darter at the Butlin's Minehead Resort last November in the Players Championship Finals.

Gurney found himself on the receiving end of a nine-darter for the second time in a fortnight, having also seen Michael Smith land a perfect leg in their Premier League clash in Dublin.

The nine-darter was the tenth in the history of the UK Open, and the 14th on the PDC circuit this year - including Van Gerwen's own nine-darter in Players Championship Six.

Van Gerwen's achievement means that the 2020 UK Open is the first two feature two nine-darters in the same event.

Ladbrokes UK Open Nine-Darters
2004 - Phil Taylor v Matt Chapman
2005 - Phil Taylor v Roland Scholten
2007 - Phil Taylor v Wes Newton
2008 - Phil Taylor v Jamie Harvey
2010 - Mervyn King v Gary Anderson
2012 - Gary Anderson v Davey Dodds
2013 - Wes Newton v Adrian Lewis
2016 - Michael van Gerwen v Rob Cross
2020 - Jonny Clayton v Chris Dobey
2020 - Michael van Gerwen v Daryl Gurney