Ashton & Hedman win World Championship spots despite Sherrock success

Lisa Ashton (PDC)

Lisa Ashton and Deta Hedman claimed places in the William Hill World Darts Championship as the PDC Women's Series concluded on Sunday, despite Fallon Sherrock winning Event Four in Barnsley.

Ashton and Hedman had shared victories in the first two of four Women's Series events on Saturday, with Ashton then claiming her second victory of the weekend in Sunday's Event Three.

Sherrock went on to take victory in Event Four, but Hedman's run to the quarter-finals eventually proved just enough as she claimed the World Championship place by virtue of Legs Won across the four events, with the pair having tied on £2,250 on the Order of Merit.

Ashton topped the final rankings with £2,450 and continued a memorable weekend by opening Sunday's action with victory in Event Three, defeating Hedman 6-3 in the final.

She was pushed all the way by Corinne Hammond and Vicky Pruim in the latter stages, and overcame teenage talent Beau Greaves 4-2 in the last 16.

Hedman overcame Sherrock 4-3 in the Event Three quarter-finals, having earlier seen off Lorraine Winstanley, and a 5-0 whitewash of Tracy North secured her spot in the final.

Sherrock would avenge that loss to Hedman with a 4-2 victory at the same stage in Event Four, before seeing off Ashton 5-1 in the semi-finals.

She was then a 6-2 winner against Australian star Hammond in the final to claim the £1,000 top prize and complete a strong weekend at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Hammond finished in fourth place on the Order of Merit with £1,350 prize money won, with Dutch ace Aileen de Graaf - the Event Two runner-up - ending the PDC Women's Series in fifth with £1,000.

PDC Women's Series - tie for second place in Order of Merit explained
Deta Hedman & Fallon Sherrock were tied on £2,250 won.
Both secured 18 points from matches won from the last 64 onwards.
Deta Hedman won 85 legs, Fallon Sherrock won 83 legs.

PDC Women's Series
Sunday October 18, Barnsley Metrodome
Deta Hedman 4-3 Fallon Sherrock
Tracy North 4-2 Aileen de Graaf
Corinne Hammond 4-1 Jo Clements
Lisa Ashton 4-3 Vicky Pruim

Deta Hedman 5-0 Tracy North
Lisa Ashton 5-4 Corinne Hammond

Lisa Ashton 6-3 Deta Hedman

Event Four

Fallon Sherrock 4-2 Deta Hedman
Lisa Ashton 4-0 Eleanor Cairns
Corinne Hammond 4-2 Lorraine Winstanley
Laura Turner 4-1 Maria O'Brien

Fallon Sherrock 5-1 Lisa Ashton
Corinne Hammond 5-1 Laura Turner

Fallon Sherrock 6-2 Corinne Hammond

Click here to see Saturday's round-up.

See full results in the Match Centre at this link.

See match stats with DartConnect.

PDC Women's Series Order of Merit
Following Event Four (top ten & ties)



Total Prize Money


Lisa Ashton



Deta Hedman



Fallon Sherrock



Corrine Hammond



Aileen de Graaf



Lorraine Winstanley



Vicky Pruim



Felicia Blay



Joanne Locke



Tracy North


An Order of Merit from the Women's Series shall be compiled based on prize money won across the four events.

Should there be a tie for prize money, players will also be awarded one point per win from the first round which is drawn without byes to determine the allocation of points as an additional determining factor.

Wins by virtue of a walkover from this round onwards shall be counted as a win to zero. If a player withdraws midway through a match their opponent shall be awarded the win by the number of winning legs required to however many legs the withdrawing player has won at the time of withdrawal.

If two or more players are tied on prize money and points, they will be separated in the ranking list by (in order until they can be split): legs won and leg difference. Results from the preliminary round before the first round drawn without byes are disregarded for this countback. If the players cannot be split, a play-off will be organised.

In the case of the PDC Women's Series:
Deta Hedman & Fallon Sherrock were tied on £2,250 won.
Both secured 18 points from matches won from the last 64 onwards.
Deta Hedman won 85 legs, Fallon Sherrock won 83 legs.