Schedule of play confirmed for Unibet European Championship

Rob Cross

The schedule of play has been confirmed for the 2020 Unibet European Championship, with all 32 players in action on Thursday in Oberhausen, Germany.

The top 32 players on the 2020 European Tour Order of Merit will compete for £500,000 across four days from October 29-November 1 at the König Pilsener Arena in the latest PDC event being staged with fans.

Reigning champion Rob Cross will begin his title defence against Martijn Kleermaker in the 11th of the 16 matches to be staged in one bumper session on the tournament’s opening day on Thursday.

Three-time European Championship quarter-finalist Dave Chisnall will face Jamie Hughes in the opening game of the tournament, while the 16th and final match of the day will see 2016 runner-up Mensur Suljovic take on two-time semi-finalist Daryl Gurney.

The three games prior to Suljovic v Gurney will see the world's top three in action as four-time winner Michael van Gerwen meets Darius Labanauskas, last year's runner-up Gerwyn Price plays Kim Huybrechts and two-time semi-finalist Peter Wright faces Gabriel Clemens.

Top seed Joe Cullen will take on William O'Connor in match ten, after fellow 2020 European Tour event winners Jose de Sousa and Devon Petersen have played against Jeffrey de Zwaan and Andy Hamilton respectively.

Thursday's winners will return to the stage on Friday as the second round takes place across two sessions.

Saturday will see the quarter-finals played in the evening, before the semi-finals and final take place on Sunday night.

The European Championship will be broadcast on ITV4 in the UK, through the PDC's international broadcast partners including RTL7 and DAZN, through PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers and via

Tickets for the Unibet European Championship are available through PDC Europe.

2020 Unibet European Championship
October 29-November 1, König Pilsener Arena, Oberhausen
Schedule of Play
Thursday October 29 (1600 CET)
16x First Round

Jamie Hughes v Dave Chisnall
Krzysztof Ratajski v Steve West
Mervyn King v Ian White
Jose de Sousa v Jeffrey de Zwaan
James Wade v Steve Lennon
Devon Petersen v Andy Hamilton
Michael Smith v Ross Smith
Danny Noppert v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Nathan Aspinall v Maik Kuivenhoven
Joe Cullen v William O'Connor
Rob Cross v Martijn Kleermaker
Jonny Clayton v Max Hopp
Michael van Gerwen v Darius Labanauskas
Gerwyn Price v Kim Huybrechts
Peter Wright v Gabriel Clemens
Mensur Suljovic v Daryl Gurney
Friday October 30
Afternoon Session (1300 CET)
4x Second Round
Evening Session (2000 CET)
4x Second Round
Saturday October 31 (2000 CET)
Sunday November 1 (2000 CET)
Semi-Finals & Final

The PDC reserves the right to change the schedule of play. Should any player withdraw, PDC Rule 3.7 would apply, and a replacement player would be found from the European Tour Order of Merit.

The schedule for the second round onwards will be confirmed at the conclusion of the previous day’s play.

Prize Fund  
Winner - £120,000
Runner-up - £60,000
Semi-Finalists - £32,000
Quarter-Finalists - £20,000
Last 16 - £10,000
Last 32 - £6,000
Total - £500,000