2021 Hungarian Darts Trophy draw and schedule

European Tour stage

Daryl Gurney and Vincent van der Voort will meet on the opening day of the 2021 Hungarian Darts Trophy, with the draw and schedule of play confirmed for the year's first European Tour event.

The PDC's first visit to Hungary will see 47 players in action at the Papp László Sportaréna in Budapest from September 3-5, with every match broadcast live on PDCTV.

Friday's first round will be headlined by a clash between former European Tour event winners Gurney and Van der Voort, with the winner advancing to face Michael van Gerwen in Saturday's last 32.

Dutchman Richard Veenstra will make his European Tour debut against Keegan Brown for the right to play Gerwyn Price, while Nathan Aspinall awaits the winner of Adrian Lewis' tie with World Youth Champion Bradley Brooks.

The 16 seeded players will enter at the second round stage on Saturday, including the world's top three of Price, Van Gerwen and Peter Wright, who meets Florian Hempel or Wayne Jones.

Danny Noppert, who would have been one of the 16 seeded players, has withdrawn from the event after his father passed away on Wednesday.

As a result, Rob Cross - the highest-ranked Tour Card Holder Qualifier on the ProTour Order of Merit at the cut-off date - becomes the 16th seed, and one Bye is awarded in the first round, which was received by William O'Connor.

The tournament will be streamed through PDCTV and bookmakers' websites worldwide. PDCTV subscription options will include Event Pass and Day Pass packages, as well as Annual and Monthly Subscriptions.

2021 Hungarian Darts Trophy
Tournament Draw Bracket - Second Round Onwards

(1) Joe Cullen v Geert Nentjes/Geert De Vos
(16) Rob Cross v Peter Strbik/Ross Smith
(8) James Wade v William O'Connor
(9) Devon Petersen v Luke Humphries/Madars Razma
(4) Michael van Gerwen v Vincent van der Voort/Daryl Gurney
(13) Brendan Dolan v Alan Soutar/Jozsef Rucska
(5) Gerwyn Price v Richard Veenstra/Keegan Brown
(12) Damon Heta v Simon Whitlock/Darren Webster
(2) Jose de Sousa v János Végső/Joe Murnan
(15) Nathan Aspinall v Adrian Lewis/Bradley Brooks
(7) Jonny Clayton v Boris Krcmar/Adam Gawlas
(10) Krzysztof Ratajski v Gabor Jagica/Lewis Williams
(3) Peter Wright v Florian Hempel/Jake Jones
(14) Mensur Suljovic v Johan Engström/William Borland
(6) Michael Smith v Steve Beaton/John Michael
(11) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Thomas Lovely/Keane Barry

Schedule of Play
Friday September 3
First Round    
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)    

Johan Engström v William Borland
Geert Nentjes v Geert De Vos
Richard Veenstra v Keegan Brown
János Végső v Joe Murnan
Thomas Lovely v Keane Barry
Boris Krcmar v Adam Gawlas
Gabor Jagica v Lewis Williams

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Florian Hempel v Jake Jones
Peter Strbik v Ross Smith
Alan Soutar v Jozsef Rucska
Luke Humphries v Madars Razma
Adrian Lewis v Bradley Brooks
Steve Beaton v John Michael
Simon Whitlock v Darren Webster
Vincent van der Voort v Daryl Gurney

Saturday September 4
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Rob Cross v Strbik/R Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski v Jagica/Williams
Brendan Dolan v Soutar/Rucska
James Wade v William O'Connor
Mensur Suljovic v Engström/Borland
Devon Petersen v Humphries/Razma
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Lovely/Barry
Nathan Aspinall v Lewis/Brooks

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Jonny Clayton v Krcmar/Gawlas
Joe Cullen v Nentjes/De Vos
Damon Heta v Whitlock/Webster
Jose de Sousa v Végső/Murnan
Michael van Gerwen v Van der Voort/Gurney
Gerwyn Price v Veenstra/Brown
Peter Wright v Hempel/Jones
Michael Smith v Beaton/Michael

Sunday September 5
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
Third Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.
Sunday's games played in Draw Bracket order

Prize Fund  
Winner - £25,000
Runner-up - £10,000
Semi-Finalists - £6,500
Quarter-Finalists - £5,000
Last 16 - £3,000
Last 32 - £2,000
Last 48 - £1,000
Total - £140,000