Thomas, Dennant, Justicia & Alcinas enjoy Challenge Tour wins

Jose Justicia (PDC)

The final PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour weekend of 2021 began on Friday as Spanish duo Jose Justicia and Toni Alcinas, Martin Thomas and Matthew Dennant shared victories.

The European Challenge Tour double-header in Niedernhausen was dominated by the Spanish duo as they shared victories.

Justicia (pictured) won his first Challenge Tour title in Event Seven, defeating Niko Springer 5-1 in the final.

Justicia's toughest test came in the last 64 as he overcame Matt Campbell 5-3, while he also saw off Rowby-John Rodriguez 5-2 in the quarter-finals and Damian Mol by the same scoreline in the semis.

Germany's Springer, 21, took the final's opening leg, but Justicia reeled off the next five without reply to secure the title.

Springer, a Development Tour finalist last month, defeated a quartet of Dutchman in his run to the decider - seeing off Moreno Blom, Jimmy Hendriks, Gian van Veen and Davy Proosten in successive matches.

Alcinas completed a Spanish double in Niedernhausen by winning Event Eight, emphatically whitewashing Hendriks 5-0 in the final.

Alcinas defeated both Springer and Rodriguez in the event, as he went one better than his runner-up place in July's Event Three.

Martin Thomas also won his first Challenge Tour title on Friday, with the Event One runner-up this time going all the way as he defeated Shaun McDonald 5-2 in the UK Event Seven decider in Milton Keynes.

The Welshman, 49, opened his day with a 103 average in defeating Connor Scutt, and he also whitewashed Reece Robinson 5-0 in the semis before dominating the final against McDonald.

McDonald had won Event Five last month but was denied a second Challenge Tour title, despite seeing off experienced Steve Hine in the semi-finals in one of three matches where he went to a deciding ninth leg.

Dennant picked up his second Challenge Tour win in as many years by defeating Darren Beveridge 5-4 in the Event Eight final.

Beveridge came from a leg down to lead 2-1 and retained that advantage through to 403, before Dennant levelled and capitalised when his rival failed to close out victory in three visits after leaving 40 following 12 darts in the decider.

Dennant also defeated Welsh pair Richie Burnett and Jamie Lewis in the event and whitewashed Jason Hogg in the quarter-finals.

The weekend's Challenge Tour action continues on Saturday with further double-headers in both Milton Keynes and Niedernhausen for PDPA Associate Members.

Jim Williams retained his lead at the top of the UK Challenge Tour Order of Merit following Friday's events with £3,800 prize money, ahead of McDonald (£3,600), Beveridge and Adam Smith-Neale (both £3,350).

Canada's Matt Campbell (£4,750) remains top of the European Challenge Tour standings, ahead of Rodriguez (£3,700), Kenny Neyens (£3,550) and Alcinas (£3,450).

See full results from each event in our Match Centre:
UK Challenge Tour Events 7-8 Match Centre
European Challenge Tour Events 7-8 Match Centre

See match stats from all events in DartConnect.

PDC Unicorn UK Challenge Tour
Event Seven

Shaun McDonald 5-3 Jamie Clark
Steve Hine 5-2 Lloyd Pennell
Martin Thomas 5-4 Robert Thornton
Reece Robinson 5-2 Justin Smith

Shaun McDonald 5-4 Steve Hine
Martin Thomas 5-0 Reece Robinson

Martin Thomas 5-2 Shaun McDonald

Event Eight

Richie Burnett 5-4 Nathan Rafferty
Matthew Dennant 5-0 Jason Hogg
Keelan Kay 5-2 David Wawrzewski
Darren Beveridge 5-1 Adam Huckvale

Matthew Dennant 5-2 Richie Burnett
Darren Beveridge 5-1 Keelan Kay

Matthew Dennant 5-4 Darren Beveridge

PDC Unicorn European Challenge Tour
Event Seven

Jose Justicia 5-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damian Mol 5-4 Jeremy van der Winkel
Davy Proosten 5-3 Franz Roetzsch
Niko Springer 5-2 Gian van Veen

Jose Justicia 5-2 Damian Mol
Niko Springer 5-3 Davy Proosten

Jose Justicia 5-1 Niko Springer

Event Eight

Toni Alcinas 5-2 Marvin van Velzen
Rowby-John Rodriguez 5-4 Wesley Plaisier
Jimmy Hendriks 5-3 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Kenny Neyens 5-1 Arjan Konterman

Toni Alcinas 5-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jimmy Hendriks 5-2 Kenny Neyens

Toni Alcinas 5-0 Jimmy Hendriks