Rampant Rydz impresses in Gibraltar

Callan Rydz put in a devastating performance as he averaged 110.72 in a 6-3 victory over Peter Wright as the Second Round of the 2021 Gibraltar Darts Trophy was completed at the Europa Sports Complex. 

Rydz, who also impressed in the opening round, was imperious as he landed 100% of his double attempts, including a stunning 170 finish. 

It wasn't a poor performance by any means from Wright - averaging 108 himself. After the 170 in the opening leg from Rydz, Wright stepped into a 2-1 lead before four legs in a row from the 23-year-old stunned the Scotsman as he moved onto the brink of victory. 

World Cup Champion Wright got another leg on the board, but he could do little but watch as the Bedlington based star crossed the line and into the Third Round, where he will face Brendan Dolan.

Michael van Gerwen continued his renaissance as he beat Rob Cross 6-3 in an assured display. 

Having won the Nordic Darts Masters last weekend, Van Gerwen once again looked in fine form as he averaged just over 100 and landed a 112 finish as he progressed, and will now face Danny Noppert tomorrow.

Nathan Aspinall picked up a confident boosting win in the final game of the evening as he posted the second highest winning average of the day in 102.55 as he saw off Ritchie Edhouse 6-3, sealing the victory with a 121 finish. 

With last year's event cancelled, 2019's reigning champion Krzysztof Ratajski continued his bid to retain his title as he saw off Ryan Searle 6-3. 

After the opening exchanges were shared, a 112 finish from the Polish star saw him hit the front before winning the next two legs to lead 5-2. Searle clawed one back, but the damage was done for Ratajski as he held throw to progress to the Third Round.

Arguably the biggest shock of the day came as Premier League champion Jonny Clayton was dumped out by Adam Smith-Neale 6-4 in the opening game of the evening. 

Despite having nearly eight points more on his average, Clayton failed to claw his way back from a 5-2 deficit with the victory ensuring that Smith-Neale books his place in October's European Championships, as well as a third round clash with Ratajski.

Reigning World Champion Gerwyn Price made light work of Florian Hempel as he progressed to finals day. 

Germany's Hempel couldn't cope with the superior scoring power of the Welshman as he raced into a 3-0 lead, before quicky wrapping up a 6-1 victory. 

But there was German success for Gabriel Clemens as he comfortably beat Devon Petersen 6-3. 

Jose De Sousa was the biggest winner of the day as he streaked to a 6-0 victory over Kenny Neyens, whilst Joe Cullen wrapped up a 6-1 win over Joe Murnan. 

There were three narrow victories in the opening session on Day Two. Ted Evetts squeezed past Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 in the opening game of the day, with Mensur Suljovic doing the same against Kim Huybrechts and James Wade edging past Boris Krcmar by the same scoreline. 

Michael Smith was the first seed of the competition to be eliminated as Australian ace Simon Whitlock squeezed through 6-2. 

With little to separate them on the averages, it was Whitlock's superior finishing - including checkouts of 112 and 114 - that saw him progress.

Elsewhere, Dolan saw off Mervyn King 6-1, Noppert beat Andreas Harrysson 6-2 and Damon Heta edged out Adam Hunt 6-3. 

The Gibraltar Darts Masters will conclude tomorrow, with the Third Round in the afternoon before the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Final in the evening. 

PDCTV subscription options will include Event Pass and Day Pass packages, as well as Annual and Monthly Subscriptions.

2021 Gibraltar Darts Trophy
Saturday September 25
Second Round
Afternoon Session

Ted Evetts 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Mervyn King
Danny Noppert 6-2 Andreas Harrysson
Damon Heta 6-3 Adam Hunt
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Michael Smith
James Wade 6-5 Boris Krcmar
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Ryan Searle

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Adam Smith-Neale 6-4 Jonny Clayton 
Jose de Sousa 6-0 Kenny Neyens
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Devon Petersen 
Callan Rydz 6-3 Peter Wright 
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Florian Hempel
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Rob Cross
Joe Cullen 6-1 Joe Murnan
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse

Sunday September 26
Third Round (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Simon Whitlock v Ted Evetts
Callan Rydz v Brendan Dolan
Adam Smith-Neale v Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose De Sousa v Mensur Suljovic
Gerwyn Price v Damon Heta
Michael van Gerwen v Danny Noppert
James Wade v Gabriel Clemens
Joe Cullen v Nathan Aspinall

All games up to, and including, the quarter-finals, are the best of 11 legs. The semi-finals are the best of 13 legs and the final is the best of 15 legs.

Sunday's games played in Draw Bracket order.

Prize Fund  
Winner - £25,000
Runner-up - £10,000
Semi-Finalists - £6,500
Quarter-Finalists - £5,000
Last 16 - £3,000
Last 32 - £2,000
Last 48 - £1,000
Total - £140,000