2022 Interwetten European Darts Grand Prix draw & schedule

European Tour stage

Jose de Sousa will begin the defence of his Interwetten European Darts Grand Prix title against either Andrew Gilding or John Michael, with the draw and schedule of play for the year's seventh European Tour event confirmed.

The European Tour's first visit to Stuttgart will see three days of play from Friday to Sunday, with the likes of World Champion Peter Wright and three-time 2022 European Tour event winner Michael van Gerwen in action.

Friday's first round will see the afternoon session headlined by a meeting between last weekend's Czech Darts Open quarter-finalist Adam Gawlas and former World Championship quarter-finalist Ryan Joyce.

The evening's action sees a clash of former Premier League stars as Kim Huybrechts meets Stephen Bunting, while Associate Member Qualifier Jelle Klaasen faces World Championship quarter-finalist Callan Rydz.

The seeded players enter the event in round two on Saturday, with Wright beginning his bid for a first European Tour title of the year against either German number one Gabriel Clemens or Sweden's Johan Engstrom, while 2020 winner De Sousa takes on Gilding or Michael.

Van Gerwen's quest for a fourth European Tour title of the year will begin against either Swiss thrower Stefan Bellmont or German Darts Grand Prix runner-up Martin Lukeman.

Luke Humphries, who won his second European Tour event of the year in Prague last weekend, meets Ryan Meikle or Ron Meulenkamp on Saturday as he begins his bid to claim a further success.

Gerwyn Price withdrew from competing following the completion of qualifying events. Subsequently, Eddie Lovely receives a Bye to the second round.

Price's withdrawal also sees Martin Schindler become a seeded player, with the in-form German awaiting the winner of Madars Razma's tie with Niels Zonneveld in round two.

Sunday's Finals Day will see the last 16 take place in the afternoon session, before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening.

Coverage will be streamed through DAZN for viewers in Germany, Austria and Switzerland and through PDCTV for subscribers in all other territories, as well as through bookmakers worldwide.

PDCTV Subscription options will include a £3.99 Event Pass & a £1.99 Day Pass.

2022 Interwetten European Darts Grand Prix
Tournament Draw Bracket - Second Round Onwards

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Stefan Bellmont/Martin Lukeman
(16) Martin Schindler v Madars Razma/Niels Zonneveld
(8) Damon Heta v Radek Szaganski/Mickey Mansell
(9) Ryan Searle v Adam Gawlas/Ryan Joyce
(4) Joe Cullen v Jim Williams/Rowby-John Rodriguez
(13) Daryl Gurney v Eddie Lovely
(5) Rob Cross v Jelle Klaasen/Callan Rydz
(12) Krzysztof Ratajski v Kim Huybrechts/Stephen Bunting
(2) Jose de Sousa v Andrew Gilding/John Michael
(15) Brendan Dolan v Martijn Kleermaker/Danny Jansen
(7) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Joe Murnan/Lukas Wenig
(10) Luke Humphries v Ryan Meikle/Ron Meulenkamp
(3) Peter Wright v Gabriel Clemens/Johan Engstrom
(14) Jonny Clayton v Luke Woodhouse/Adrian Lewis
(6) Michael Smith v Karel Sedlacek/Danny Noppert
(11) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Nathan Rafferty/Dragutin Horvat

Schedule of Play
Friday May 20
First Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Andrew Gilding v John Michael
Madars Razma v Niels Zonneveld
Adam Gawlas v Ryan Joyce
Radek Szaganski v Mickey Mansell
Stefan Bellmont v Martin Lukeman
Ryan Meikle v Ron Meulenkamp
Joe Murnan v Lukas Wenig

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Jelle Klaasen v Callan Rydz
Jim Williams v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Kim Huybrechts v Stephen Bunting
Martijn Kleermaker v Danny Jansen
Nathan Rafferty v Dragutin Horvat
Luke Woodhouse v Adrian Lewis
Gabriel Clemens v Johan Engstrom
Karel Sedlacek v Danny Noppert

Bye: Eddie Lovely

Saturday May 21
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Damon Heta v Szaganski/Mansell
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Murnan/Wenig
Ryan Searle v Gawlas/Joyce
Daryl Gurney v Eddie Lovely
Jose de Sousa v Gilding/Michael
Krzysztof Ratajski v Huybrechts/Bunting
Brendan Dolan v Kleermaker/Jansen
Rob Cross v Klaasen/Rydz

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Joe Cullen v Williams/Rodriguez
Luke Humphries v Meikle/Meulenkamp
Jonny Clayton v Woodhouse/Lewis
Michael van Gerwen v Bellmont/Lukeman
Martin Schindler v Razma/Zonneveld
Peter Wright v Clemens/Engstrom
Michael Smith v Sedlacek/Noppert
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Rafferty/Horvat

Sunday May 22
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order

All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Prize Fund  
Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16 losers: £3,000
Last 32 losers: £2,000
Last 48 losers: £1,000
Total: £140,000 
NB: Seeded players who lose their last 32 match in the event will not be credited with prize money on to the Order of Merit, ProTour Order of Merit or European Tour Order of Merit, however they shall still receive full prize money payment.