Sherrock and Ashton share spoils at PDC Women's Series

Sherrock posted a 102 average en route to Event 11 glory

Fallon Sherrock claimed her third PDC Women’s Series title of 2022 on Sunday, as Lisa Ashton completed a weekend double in Barnsley.

Sherrock dominated throughout Event 11 and found herself in the semi-finals after losing just three legs in her opening four matches.

The 27-year-old’s rampant run continued into the semi-finals, with Sherrock averaging 102 and firing in an 11-darter to defeat Aileen de Graaf 5-2, setting up a showdown against Natalie Gilbert.

Gilbert provided a tough test as the pair shared the opening six legs, but Sherrock stepped up to the plate, holding her throw in a nervy seventh leg, before closing out the final with a 14-dart leg to claim victory in Sunday’s opening event.

Sherrock couldn’t use the momentum of the morning session however, as fellow star Lisa Ashton took centre stage in Event 12.

Ashton began in typically dominant fashion, dropping just one leg in her first two matches, before a tough tie against Rhian O’Sullivan produced some stunning arrows. 

Ashton went two legs up after an impressive 12-dart leg, only for O’Sullivan to win back-to-back legs, including a 12-darter of her own.

The pair then traded holds before Ashton came out on top and progressed through the last 16, where it again took seven legs for the Lancashire Rose to book her place in the quarter-finals, recovering from 3-0 down to defeat Lorraine Winstanley.

Following a convincing 4-0 win in the quarter-finals, Ashton again went the distance against Katie Sheldon, setting up a final against Aileen de Graaf.

The Order of Merit leader looked poised to extend her lead with a comfortable victory, but De Graaf bounced back from a slow start by winning consecutive legs to level the match up.

However, Ashton held her nerve and never looked back, winning three legs on the spin to wrap up victory and finish the weekend with yet another Women’s Series title, her seventh of 2022.

Ashton and Sherrock will now headline the eight-player field at the Betfred Women’s World Matchplay, which takes place at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool on Sunday July 24.

Winstanley, De Graaf, Laura Turner, Rhian Griffiths, Sheldon and O’Brien make up the eight-player line-up, with £10,000 in prize money and Grand Slam of Darts qualification on offer for the winner.

The PDC Women’s Series continues on August 27-28, as the sport’s leading stars compete for a further £20,000 in prize money at Events 13-16 in Hildesheim.

The top two players from the final PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit will qualify for the 2022/23 Cazoo World Darts Championship, while the Order of Merit leader will also claim a Grand Slam spot.

View results from Events 11 & 12 in the Match Centre.

Click for match stats and results through DartConnect.

2022 PDC Women's Series
Event 11, Barnsley Metrodome

Natalie Gilbert 4-3 Lorraine Winstanley
Lisa Ashton 4-1 Laura Turner
Aileen de Graaf 4-1 Corrine Hammond
Fallon Sherrock 4-2 Kirsty Hutchinson

Natalie Gilbert 5-4 Lisa Ashton
Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Aileen de Graaf

Fallon Sherrock 5-3 Natalie Gilbert

Event 12

Fallon Sherrock 4-3 Corrine Hammond
Aileen de Graaf 4-2 Denise Cassidy
Lisa Ashton 4-0 Chloe O'Brien
Katie Sheldon 4-1 Maria O'Brien

Aileen de Graaf 5-4 Fallon Sherrock
Lisa Ashton 5-4 Katie Sheldon

Lisa Ashton 5-2 Aileen de Graaf