2022 Interwetten European Darts Matchplay draw & schedule

2022 European Tour (PDC)

Gerwyn Price will take on either UK Open champion Danny Noppert or Rowby-John Rodriguez in the second round of the Interwetten European Darts Matchplay, with the draw and schedule of play for this weekend’s European Tour event now confirmed.

Arena Trier plays host to the ninth European Tour event of 2022, which sees three days of play from Friday to Sunday, with top seed Price and defending champion Joe Cullen headlining this weekend’s action in Germany.

Friday’s first round will see 13 matches taking place across two sessions, with Jeffrey de Zwaan, Luke Woodhouse and German number one Gabriel Clemens receiving byes through to round two following the withdrawals of Peter Wright, Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith.

Noppert, a finalist at last month’s Dutch Darts Championship, takes on 2021 World Cup of Darts runner-up Rodriguez in one of Friday’s standout ties.

Home favourite Florian Hempel plays former World Youth Champion Bradley Brooks, while Players Championship 17 winner Scott Williams opens his campaign against Radek Szaganski.

German Darts Grand Prix finalist Martin Lukeman meets John Michael in the evening’s curtain-raiser, with Mervyn King up against UK Open quarter-finalist Sebastian Bialecki.

The seeded players enter the fray in Saturday’s second round, as Price meets Noppert or Rodriguez, while Cullen kicks off his title defence against Ian White or Joe Murnan.

Luke Humphries begins his bid for a fourth European Tour title of 2022 against Niels Zonneveld or Cameron Menzies, as second seed Ryan Searle plays Lukeman or Michael.

Rob Cross, a three-time runner-up on the European Tour in 2022, faces either Johan Engstrom or James Wilson, while Dimitri Van den Bergh awaits the winner of Hempel or Brooks, as he aims to build on his World Series of Darts double in Copenhagen and Amsterdam during June.

Clemens takes on two-time TV title winner Daryl Gurney for a place in round three, with Dirk van Duijvenbode and De Zwaan set to collide in an explosive all-Dutch clash.

Sunday's Finals Day will see the last 16 take place in the afternoon session, before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final round off a blockbuster evening session.

Coverage will be streamed through DAZN for viewers in Germany, Austria and Switzerland and through PDCTV for subscribers in all other territories, as well as through bookmakers worldwide.

PDCTV Subscription options will include a £3.99 Event Pass & a £1.99 Day Pass.

2022 Interwetten European Darts Matchplay
Tournament Draw Bracket - Second Round Onwards 

(1) Gerwyn Price v Danny Noppert/Rowby-John Rodriguez
(16) Daryl Gurney v Gabriel Clemens
(8) Nathan Aspinall v Ross Montgomery/Jermaine Wattimena
(9) Jonny Clayton v Radek Szaganski/Scott Williams
(4) Jose de Sousa v Jamie Hughes/Wesley Plaisier
(13) Martin Schindler v Madars Razma/Dragutin Horvat
(5) Rob Cross v Johan Engstrom/James Wilson
(12) Krzysztof Ratajski v Luke Woodhouse
(2) Ryan Searle v Martin Lukeman/John Michael
(15) Stephen Bunting v Sebastian Bialecki/Mervyn King
(7) Damon Heta v Callan Rydz/Jon Worsley
(10) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Florian Hempel/Bradley Brooks
(3) Luke Humphries v Niels Zonneveld/Cameron Menzies
(14) Chris Dobey v Lukas Wenig/Steve Lennon
(6) Joe Cullen v Joe Murnan/Ian White
(11) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Jeffrey de Zwaan

First Round Byes: Jeffrey de Zwaan, Gabriel Clemens, Luke Woodhouse

Schedule of Play
Friday July 1
First Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Johan Engstrom v James Wilson
Ross Montgomery v Jermaine Wattimena
Jamie Hughes v Wesley Plaisier
Radek Szaganski v Scott Williams
Niels Zonneveld v Cameron Menzies
Joe Murnan v Ian White

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Martin Lukeman v John Michael
Sebastian Bialecki v Mervyn King
Callan Rydz v Jon Worsley
Madars Razma v Dragutin Horvat
Lukas Wenig v Steve Lennon
Danny Noppert v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Florian Hempel v Bradley Brooks

Saturday July 2
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Krzysztof Ratajski v Luke Woodhouse
Rob Cross v Engstrom/Wilson
Nathan Aspinall v Montgomery/Wattimena
Stephen Bunting v Bialecki/King
Damon Heta v Rydz/Worsley
Ryan Searle v Lukeman/Michael
Jose de Sousa v Hughes/Plaisier
Chris Dobey v Wenig/Lennon

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Luke Humphries v Zonneveld/Menzies
Jonny Clayton v Szaganski/Williams
Daryl Gurney v Gabriel Clemens
Gerwyn Price v Noppert/Rodriguez
Joe Cullen v Murnan/White
Martin Schindler v Razma/Horvat
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Hempel/Brooks
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Sunday July 3
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order

All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Prize Fund
Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16 losers: £3,000
Last 32 losers: £2,000
Last 48 losers: £1,000
Total: £140,000 

NB: Seeded players who lose their last 32 match in the event will not be credited with prize money on to the Order of Merit, ProTour Order of Merit or European Tour Order of Merit, however they shall still receive full prize money payment.