Ashton to headline as Women's Series resumes in Hildesheim

Lisa Ashton (Taylor Lanning/PDC)

The PDC Women’s Series resumes in Germany this weekend, with Events 13-16 taking place at Halle 39 in Hildesheim.

The penultimate weekend of Women’s Series action in 2022 will see players battling it out for £20,000 in prize money from August 27-28.

Women’s World Matchplay champion Fallon Sherrock will not feature due to her World Series of Darts commitments, although Lisa Ashton headlines a high-quality field in Hildesheim.

The Lancashire veteran has won seven of this year's 12 tournaments, and with just eight events remaining, she boasts a £2,300 lead over Sherrock at the top of the Women’s Series Order of Merit.

The winner of the Women’s Series Order of Merit will feature alongside Sherrock at the Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts, while the two highest-ranked players qualify for the 2022/23 Cazoo World Darts Championship.

The race to qualify for the 2023 Betfred Women’s World Matchplay also begins in Germany this weekend, as WDF Women’s Champion Beau Greaves prepares to make her first Women's Series appearance of the year.

Women’s World Matchplay runner-up Aileen de Graaf will also be in action, alongside Event Ten winner Lorraine Winstanley, a semi-finalist at last month’s Winter Gardens showpiece.

Winstanley trails Sherrock by £2,100 on the Order of Merit, but she will be bidding to reduce the deficit in the absence of the Milton Keynes star.

Deta Hedman is another high-profile name making the trip to Germany, along with Women’s World Matchplay trio Laura Turner, Katie Sheldon and Rhian Griffiths.

Entry, costing £25 per event, is still available through the PDC Entry System. Entries close at 1400 BST on Wednesday August 24.

New players must register their details at this link. Following your registration, you will receive an email to confirm that you are available to enter tournaments, and at this stage you can login to make your entry to the relevant events. This verification may take up to 48 hours.

The PDC Women's Series will be streamed through PDCTV with live coverage throughout each event on August 27 & 28, with play from approx 1000 CEST (0900 BST) on each day.