Qualifiers confirmed for inaugural PDC Asian Championship

Paul Lim

The field of pre-qualified players has been confirmed ahead of this weekend's highly-anticipated PDC Asian Championship in Fukuoka, Japan.

The inaugural staging of the landmark event will see the leading players from Asia battling it out from September 22-25 for the $15,000 top prize and one of four spots in the Cazoo World Darts Championship.

The 48-player main event on Saturday and Sunday will feature 22 pre-qualified players, including the eight players who represented Japan, Philippines, Singapore and Hong Kong at this year’s World Cup of Darts.

Tatsunami Mitsuhiko became the final player to book a place in the tournament through the Japanese regional qualifier.

Six-time World Championship participant Lourence Ilagan and Singapore's iconic Paul Lim will headline the showpiece event.

The main event will be preceded by two days of Asian Series qualifiers, with almost 200 players set to compete in four qualifying events split across Thursday and Friday.

The last four players from each qualifier will secure an automatic place in the 48-player field, alongside a further ten players from the Asian Series Order of Merit.

The PDC Asian Championship then begins with a round-robin stage on Saturday, with the players split into 16 groups of three. The round-robin stage will be played across eight boards, including one streamed board.

Each group winner will then progress to compete in the last 16 later that day, with Sunday featuring the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in a blockbuster finale.

The PDC Asian Championship will be streamed from Thursday to Sunday through PDCTV for all subscribers worldwide - subscription options will include a $1.99 Day Pass and $4.99 Event Pass.

Action from the qualifiers will also be streamed through Felix Darts’ YouTube channel across Asia.

2022 PDC Asian Championship
Confirmed Qualifiers

Paul Lim (Singapore)
Harith Lim (Singapore)
Lourence Ilagan (Philippines)
Rodolfo Jr. Escaros (Philippines)
Lee Lok Yin (Hong Kong)
Ching Ho Tung (Hong Kong)
Suzuki Toru (Japan)
Goto Tomoya (Japan)
Christian Perez (Philippines)
Tay Zhao Cheng (Singapore)
Basem Mahmood Mohamed (Bahhrain)
Tungalag Purevloov (Mongolia)
Tatsunami Mitsuhiko (Japan)
Leung Man Lok (Hong Kong)
Lin Zhiwei (China)
Syed Mohd Abdul Mannan (India)
Cheng Kam Weng (Macau)
Tan Jenn Ming (Malaysia)
Kim Yong-Seok (South Korea)
Chen Yan Bin (Taiwan)
Chaiyan Paiaree (Thailand)
Hussain Nadir Abdulla Ali (UAE)

Schedule of Play
Thursday September 22 (1100 start)

Asian Series Qualifiers 1-2 

Friday September 23 (1100 start)
Asian Series Qualifiers 3-4 

Saturday September 24 (1100 start)
Round-Robin Stage 
Last 16

Sunday September 25 (1200 start)

Prize Fund ($US)
Winner $15,000
Runner-Up $7,000
Semi-Finalists $5,000
Quarter-Finalists $3,000
Last 16 $2,000
Second in Group $1,500
Third in Group $1,000
Total $100,000

Asian Series Qualifiers: Best of seven legs
Round-Robin Stage: Best of nine legs
Last 16: Best of nine legs
Quarter-Finals: Best of 11 legs
Semi-Finals: Best of 11 legs
Final: Best of 13 legs

In the Asian Series Qualifiers, players will receive one point per victory from the first full round drawn without Byes to form the Orders of Merit. Any ties will be split as follows based on all match results: Leg Difference, Legs Won, Legs Won Against Throw, Tournament Average, Play-Off.

Any withdrawal of a pre-qualified player will be replaced by an additional player from the Asian Series Order of Merit.