Wright withdraws from PC Finals; schedule of play confirmed

Peter Wright (Taylor Lanning/PDC)

Peter Wright has withdrawn from the 2022 Cazoo Players Championship Finals, and will be replaced by Gian van Veen.

Wright claimed glory in the Players Championship Finals for the first time a year ago, prevailing in a dramatic final against Ryan Searle at Butlin's Minehead Resort.

The World Champion had been set to take on European Championship winner Ross Smith in a blockbuster first round tie in this year's event on Friday November 25.

However, Wright has withdrawn from the event for family reasons as wife Joanne continues to receive treatment following a gallbladder operation.

Under PDC rules, Wright is replaced directly in the draw by the next-ranked player from the 2022 Players Championship Order of Merit, meaning that Dutch prospect Van Veen will now compete in Minehead.

Meanwhile, the schedule of play has been confirmed for the opening day of the Minehead event, where play will be split across two stages in one bumper session of darts from 1030-1830 GMT.

The Cazoo Players Championship Finals will be broadcast on ITV4 in the UK, through DAZN in various worldwide territories including Germany, Austria and Switzerland, via Viaplay in the Netherlands, and the PDC's global broadcast partners.

PDCTV coverage on Friday and Saturday from Stage Two will be available worldwide.

Cazoo Players Championship Finals
Schedule of Play
Friday November 25 (1030-1830 GMT)
First Round

Main Stage
Rob Cross v Kevin Doets
Joe Cullen v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damon Heta v Ricardo Pietreczko
James Wade v Mensur Suljovic
Josh Rock v Cameron Menzies
Gian van Veen v Ross Smith
Nathan Aspinall v Martijn Kleermaker
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Martin Lukeman
Danny Noppert v Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith v Ritchie Edhouse
Gerwyn Price v Ryan Joyce
Kim Huybrechts v Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen v Ryan Meikle
Luke Humphries v Nathan Rafferty

Stage Two
Andrew Gilding v Ricky Evans
Callan Rydz v Madars Razma
Daryl Gurney v Keegan Brown
Scott Williams v Alan Soutar
Brendan Dolan v Jermaine Wattimena
Jim Williams v Mike De Decker
Krzysztof Ratajski v William O'Connor
Adrian Lewis v Keane Barry
Jose de Sousa v Danny Jansen
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Mickey Mansell
Ryan Searle v Mervyn King
Stephen Bunting v Jamie Hughes
Chris Dobey v Geert Nentjes
Martin Schindler v Vincent van der Voort
Jonny Clayton v John O'Shea
Matt Campbell v Steve Beaton
Gabriel Clemens v Gary Anderson
Dave Chisnall v Niels Zonneveld

Saturday November 26
Afternoon Session (1245-1700 GMT)
Second Round

Main Stage & Stage Two

Evening Session (1900-2300 GMT)
Third Round

Main Stage & Stage Two

Sunday November 27
Afternoon Session (1245-1700 GMT)


Evening Session (1900-2300 GMT)
Plus Winmau World Youth Championship Final