Zong topples Liu to claim Night Four spoils in China Premier League

Xiaochen Zong (PDC Asia)

Xiaochen Zong extended his lead at the top of the PDC China Premier League table on Tuesday, after recording an emphatic win over Chengan Liu to triumph on Night Four.

Reigning champion Zong survived a major scare in his quarter-final tie against Bin Zheng – who ended his 27-match winning run on Night Two – before storming to glory in convincing style.

Zong recovered from 4-2 down to deny Zheng in a dramatic last eight clash, reeling off three consecutive legs and surviving a match dart in the deciding leg to progress.

The 24-year-old then breezed to a whitewash win over Erlin Ju in the semi-finals, converting 64, 79 and 147 checkouts to set up a showdown against Liu in Tuesday’s final.

Zong drew first blood with a 13-dart hold, and although Liu halved the deficit with a clinical 68 kill in leg three, China’s number one won the next three legs to complete a 5-1 success.

Liu – a two-time World Championship qualifier – whitewashed Jianjun Jia before edging out Night Two winner Lihao Wen in his run to the final, but he was unable to claim the spoils against a dominant Zong.

The format of the PDC China Premier League has evolved to replicate the Cazoo Premier League, with eight players competing across eight nights of action.

Following the conclusion of Night Seven, the top four players in the league table will progress to the Play-Offs, and the two Play-Off finalists will represent China at the 2023 World Cup of Darts.

The PDC China Premier League returns for Night Five on Tuesday February 7, and coverage will be broadcast through PDCTV for all subscribers worldwide, with the action commencing at 1900 CST (1100 GMT).

PDC China Premier League
Night Four - Tuesday January 17

Xiaochen Zong 5-4 Bin Zheng
Erlin Ju 5-0 Wenge Xie
Lihao Wen 5-2 Xicheng Han
Chengan Liu 5-0 Jianjun Jia

Xiaochen Zong 5-0 Erlin Ju
Chengan Liu 5-4 Lihao Wen

Xiaochen Zong 5-1 Chengan Liu

2022/23 PDC China Premier League
Event Dates

February 7 - Night Five
February 14 - Night Six
TBC - Night Seven
TBC - Play-Offs (semi-finals & final)

Xiaochen Zong
Xicheng Han
Chengan Liu
Bin Zheng
Lihao Wen
Wenge Xie
Jianjun Jia
Erlin Ju

League Nights - best of nine legs
Play-Offs - semi-finals best of 19 legs, final best of 21 legs

League Phase Point Scoring
Champion: 5 points
Runner-up: 3 points
Semi-finalists: 2 points
Top four at end of regular season will advance to Play-offs

Prize Fund
Champion: $1,500 & qualification for World Cup of Darts
Runner-up: $1,000 & qualification for World Cup of Darts
Semi-finalists: $500
Quarter-finalists: $200
League phase event winner bonus: $100
Total: $5,000