Dominant Robb clinches DPNZ double in Nelson

Ben Robb (PDC)

Ben Robb continued his dominant start to the 2023 DartPlayers New Zealand Winmau ProTour season by scooping back-to-back titles in Nelson last weekend.

New Zealand’s number one Robb, who topped the 2022 DPNZ rankings, extended his lead at the top of the DPNZ Order of Merit after celebrating success in Events Five & Six on April 29-30.

Robb also claimed the spoils in the opening DPNZ double-header of the year back in February, before John Hurring and Haupai Puha picked up wins in Events Three & Four last month.

However, Robb returned to winning ways in style at Sun City, defeating Kayden Milne and Puha in the respective finals to cap off a terrific weekend of action.

The 34-year-old stormed to Event Five glory on Saturday, following up four straight victories in the round-robin phase with convincing wins over Josh Walters, Andrew Hastings and Landon Gardiner.

Robb then posted a ton-topping average to whitewash former World Series of Darts qualifier Craig Caldwell in the semi-finals, which set up a showdown against emerging star Kayden Milne.

Milne overcame World Cup veteran Warren Parry in his semi-final tussle, but he was denied in Saturday’s showpiece by Robb, who reeled off three straight legs from 5-4 adrift to triumph.

Robb maintained his sparkling form to pocket the NZ$1,000 top prize in Sunday’s Event Six, sealed with a 7-3 victory over former World Cup quarter-finalist Puha.

Three-time World Championship qualifier Robb breezed through the group phase, before averaging 106 and 101 in wins over Darren Herewini and Caldwell respectively.

He came through a gruelling tie against Mark Cleaver in the semi-finals, and he punished a below-par display from Puha to prevail in the Event Six decider, converting a 105 checkout to clinch the title.

The 2023 DPNZ ProTour season continues with Events 7-8 in Hamilton on May 13-14, as New Zealand’s World Cup talisman Robb bids to add to his title tally.

The new-look DPNZ circuit, supported by the PDC, will feature six ProTour weekends in 2023, with two events taking place on each weekend.

Following the culmination of the 2023 DPNZ ProTour season, the top 16 players on the DPNZ Order of Merit will compete in the World Darts Championship qualifier on October 9 in Christchurch.

2023 DartPlayers New Zealand Winmau ProTour
Saturday April 29
Sun City, Nelson
Event Five

Ben Robb 5-2 Landon Gardiner
Craig Caldwell 5-4 Craig Ross
Warren Parry 5-3 Darren Dummigan
Kayden Milne 5-4 Tukina Weko

Ben Robb 6-0 Craig Caldwell
Kayden Milne 6-3 Warren Parry

Ben Robb 7-5 Kayden Milne

Sunday April 30
Event Six

Ben Robb 5-1 Craig Caldwell
Mark Cleaver 5-0 Hayden Smith
Josh Walters 5-3 Tukina Weko
Haupai Puha 5-2 Lance Odgers

Ben Robb 6-4 Mark Cleaver
Haupai Puha 6-2 Josh Walters

Ben Robb 7-3 Haupai Puha