2023 Grand Slam of Darts qualification criteria confirmed

Michael Smith

Qualification criteria for the 2023 Grand Slam of Darts has been confirmed ahead of November’s Wolverhampton event.

The prestigious 32-player tournament returns to the Aldersley Leisure Village from November 11-19, as the sport’s biggest names battle it out for the iconic Eric Bristow Trophy.

Qualification criteria for this year's Grand Slam of Darts is unchanged from the 2022 event.

Reigning champion Michael Smith, who lifted his first Grand Slam crown last November, headlines this year’s confirmed field so far alongside three-time winner Michael van Gerwen and 2022 runner-up Nathan Aspinall.

The finalists from PDC televised events over a 12-month period will make up 16 places at this year’s Grand Slam, with six players currently qualifying through that route.

Masters champion Chris Dobey and UK Open champion Andrew Gilding are among the players to have won televised events so far during the qualifying period, while Rob Cross qualifies after being runner-up in the Players Championship Finals and Masters events.

The Premier League, World Matchplay, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals provide further opportunities for players to seal their qualification through televised events.

If the 16 places are not filled from televised event winners and runners-up, winners from the 2023 PDC European Tour and then Players Championship events could also secure Grand Slam spots.

A further eight players will come through the PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier on November 3, before the 32-player field is completed with an additional eight qualifiers.

Reigning World Youth Champion Josh Rock and last year's runner-up Nathan Girvan have confirmed their qualification, and will be joined by winners of the North American Championship, Challenge Tour, Development Tour and Women’s Series Order of Merit winners, as well as the Women’s World Matchplay and PDC Asian Championship winners.

2023 Grand Slam of Darts
Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)

2022/23 PDC World Champion - MICHAEL SMITH (1)
2022 Grand Slam Champion - (Michael Smith)
2023 Premier League Champion            
2023 World Matchplay Champion        
2023 World Grand Prix Champion         
2023 Masters Champion - CHRIS DOBEY (2)
2023 UK Open Champion - ANDREW GILDING (3)
2023 European Champion            
2022 Players Championship Finals Champion - MICHAEL VAN GERWEN (4)
2023 World Series of Darts Finals Champion     
2023 World Cup Champions x2             
2022/23 PDC World Championship runner-up (Michael van Gerwen)
2022 Grand Slam runner-up - NATHAN ASPINALL (5)
2023 Premier League runner-up         
2023 World Matchplay runner-up         
2023 World Grand Prix runner-up        
2023 Masters runner-up - ROB CROSS (6)
2023 UK Open runner-up - (Michael van Gerwen)
2023 European Championship runner-up    
2022 Players Championship Finals runner-up - (Rob Cross)
2023 World Series of Darts Finals runners-up    
2023 World Cup runners-up x2    

2023 European Tour Event Winners
In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals)

(DAVE CHISNALL x2), GERWYN PRICE x2, (Michael Smith), JONNY CLAYTON, (Michael van Gerwen) 

2023 Players Championship Event Winners
In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals)

Ryan Searle, Danny Noppert, Kim Huybrechts, Dirk van Duijvenbode x3, Ross Smith, Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Krzysztof Ratajski

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier
8x Players (Friday November 3)

Additional Qualifiers
2022 World Youth Champion - JOSH ROCK
2022 World Youth Championship runner-up - NATHAN GIRVAN
Top-ranked non-qualified player from Challenge Tour Order of Merit (October 29)
Top-ranked non-qualified player from Development Tour Order of Merit (August 19
2023 Women’s World Matchplay Winner (July 23)
Top-ranked non-qualified player from 2023 Women's Series Order of Merit (October 15)
2023 PDC Asian Championship Winner (October 8)
2023 North American Championship Winner (June 3)