Byrne & Suzuki share PDC Women's Series titles

Mikuru Suzuki (PDC)

Mikuru Suzuki and Robyn Byrne shared the spoils as the year's second PDC Women's Series weekend concluded with a double-header in Milton Keynes on Sunday.

Following victories for Beau Greaves and Rhian O'Sullivan on Saturday, Sunday's brace of £2,000 titles were also shared between two players.

Byrne won her first PDC Women's Series title with success in Event Seven, defeating Laura Turner 5-1 in the final.

Byrne has previously reached two Women's Series finals, and went all the way in Sunday's opening event to claim the £2,000 prize - and boost her chances of Betfred Women's World Matchplay qualification.

The 25-year-old from Ireland defeated Australia's Corinne Hammond and Finland's Kirsi Viinikainen on her way to the semi-finals, where she enjoyed a 5-3 win over Lisa Ashton.

Byrne then dominated the final against Turner - who had knocked out Beau Greaves in the quarter-finals - by taking the first three legs without reply, including a 13-darter opener, before closing out victory.

"I've been in a couple of finals but to get over the line itself is huge," said Byrne, the first Irish winner of a PDC Women's Series event. "It's just unbelievable.

"It's absolutely huge - to be part of Beau Greaves, Fallon Sherrock, Lisa Ashton and Rhian O'Sullivan, you can't be in better company. I can't be any happier."

Bryne's hopes of winning back-to-back titles were ended by reigning Women's World Matchplay champion Sherrock in the quarter-finals of Event Eight.

Japan's Suzuki then defeated Sherrock 5-2 in the semi-finals, averaging 99 in the process, before overcoming Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-3 in the final to scoop her second title of 2023.

Van Leuven picked up three straight legs to open up a 3-1 lead in the final, but Suzuki reeled off four in a row - including a 13-darter to level - as she swept to victory.

Suzuki, who averaged over 94 in three of her six games in Event Eight, sits in second place on the Women's Series Order of Merit with £6,500 following the weekend at the Marshall Arena - with Greaves topping the rankings on £10,100.

Greaves - who has dominated almost 12 months of the Women's Series - saw her hopes of yet another title ended by Van Leuven in the Event Eight semi-finals.

Van Leuven's run in Event Eight was her best yet on the Women's Series, having previously reached four quarter-finals.

The PDC Women's Series returns on June 24-25 for a further four events, which will take place at Halle 39 in Hildesheim. Coverage will be streamed on PDCTV throughout the weekend.

The top two players from the final PDC Women's Series Order of Merit will qualify to compete in the 2023/24 World Darts Championship, alongside the winner of the 2023 Betfred Women's World Matchplay.

The top eight players on the rolling Women's Series Order of Merit after Event 12 will qualify for the 2023 Betfred Women's World Matchplay, which takes place on Sunday July 23 at the Winter Gardens.

PDCTV subscription options will include Event Pass and Day Pass packages, as well as Annual and Monthly Subscriptions.

See results in the Match Centre.

See match stats through DartConnect.

2023 PDC Women's Series
Sunday May 14, Robin Park Tennis Centre
Event Seven

Laura Turner 5-4 Beau Greaves
Almudena Fajardo Ayuso 5-3 Katie Sheldon
Robyn Byrne 5-3 Kirsi Viinikainen
Lisa Ashton 5-3 Fallon Sherrock

Laura Turner 5-4 Almudena Fajardo Ayuso
Robyn Byrne 5-3 Lisa Ashton

Robyn Byrne 5-1 Laura Turner

Event Eight

Beau Greaves 5-0 Rachel Brooks
Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-2 Angela Kirkwood
Fallon Sherrock 5-0 Robyn Byrne
Mikuru Suzuki 5-1 Almudena Fajardo Ayuso

Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-3 Beau Greaves
Mikuru Suzuki 5-2 Fallon Sherrock

Mikuru Suzuki 5-3 Noa-Lynn van Leuven