Greaves books Grand Slam debut with Women's World Matchplay win

Beau Greaves (Taylor Lanning/PDC)

Beau Greaves became the latest player to secure qualification for the 2023 Grand Slam of Darts following her victory in Sunday's Betfred Women's World Matchplay.

Greaves triumphed in the second staging of the Women's World Matchplay at Blackpool's Winter Gardens, dispatching Japanese trailblazer Mikuru Suzuki 6-1 to capture the £10,000 top prize.

The 19-year-old also overcame Dutch debutant Noa-Lynn van Leuven and emerging Irish star Robyn Byrne on her way to victory at the Empress Ballroom, to continue her domination of the women's game.

Greaves will subsequently make her Grand Slam of Darts debut in Wolverhampton later this year, having also confirmed her Alexandra Palace return for the 2023/24 Paddy Power World Darts Championship.

The finalists from PDC televised events over a 12-month period will make up 16 of the 32 places at this year’s Grand Slam, with eight of those spots currently confirmed following last weekend's Betfred World Matchplay.

Nathan Aspinall produced an inspired display to lift the Phil Taylor Trophy on Sunday, racing to an 18-6 victory against Jonny Clayton to end his four-year wait for a televised ranking title.

However, Aspinall was already guaranteed a place in November's event after finishing as runner-up in 2022, while Clayton sealed his qualification after steering Wales to a second World Cup of Darts title alongside Gerwyn Price in June.

If the 16 places are not filled from the televised events, winners from the 2023 PDC European Tour and then Players Championship events will secure Grand Slam spots.

Reigning champion Michael Smith will headline this year’s star-studded field, alongside World Championship runner-up Michael van Gerwen – a three-time Grand Slam winner.

UK Open champion Andrew Gilding and Premier League runner-up Price have also sealed their spots, as have Chris Dobey and Rob Cross, who contested January's 2023 Masters final.

Scotland's World Cup of Darts finalists Peter Wright and Gary Anderson are now assured of their qualification, with further places on offer for the finalists of the JACKS.NL World Series of Darts Finals, BoyleSports World Grand Prix and European Championship.

A further eight players will come through the PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier on November 3, before the 32-player field is completed with an additional eight qualifiers.

World Youth Champion Josh Rock – who made his televised breakthrough at this event 12 months ago – will make his Grand Slam return alongside 2022 World Youth Championship runner-up Nathan Girvan.

The top ranked player from the Winmau Challenge Tour, Development Tour and PDC Women’s Series Orders of Merit will also secure their place at the Aldersley Leisure Village.

The 2023 PDC Asian Championship winner will feature for a second straight year, along with the winner of October’s CDC Continental Cup - which replaces the North American Championship for 2023.

The 2023 Grand Slam of Darts will see 32 players competing in group and knockout stages for the coveted Eric Bristow Trophy and £650,000 in prize money from November 11-19 at Wolverhampton's WV Active Aldersley.

The tournament will be broadcast on Sky Sports for viewers in the UK & Ireland, through the PDC's international broadcast partners, including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers (excluding UK, Germany, Austria & Switzerland).

2023 Grand Slam of Darts
Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)
2022/23 PDC World Champion - MICHAEL SMITH (1)
2022 Grand Slam Champion - (Michael Smith)
2023 Premier League Champion - MICHAEL VAN GERWEN (2)
2023 World Matchplay Champion - NATHAN ASPINALL (3)
2023 World Grand Prix Champion -
2023 Masters Champion - CHRIS DOBEY (4)
2023 UK Open Champion - ANDREW GILDING (5)
2023 European Champion -
2022 Players Championship Finals Champion - (Michael van Gerwen)
2023 World Series of Darts Finals Champion - 
2023 World Cup Champions x2 - GERWYN PRICE & JONNY CLAYTON (6&7)
2022/23 PDC World Championship runner-up (Michael van Gerwen)
2022 Grand Slam runner-up -  (Nathan Aspinall)
2023 Premier League runner-up - (Gerwyn Price)
2023 World Matchplay runner-up - (Jonny Clayton)
2023 World Grand Prix runner-up - 
2023 Masters runner-up - ROB CROSS (8)
2023 UK Open runner-up - (Michael van Gerwen)
2023 European Championship runner-up -
2022 Players Championship Finals runner-up - (Rob Cross)
2023 World Series of Darts Finals runners-up - 
2023 World Cup runners-up x2 - (PETER WRIGHT & GARY ANDERSON 9&10)

2023 European Tour Event Winners
In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order
(Gerwyn Price x2)
(Michael Smith)
(Michael van Gerwen)
(Peter Wright)
(Jonny Clayton)
(Rob Cross)

2023 Players Championship Event Winners
In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order
Dirk van Duijvenbode (x3)
Damon Heta (x2)
Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen
Luke Humphries
Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross
Danny Noppert
Ryan Searle
Ross Smith
Gary Anderson
Krzysztof Ratajski
Kim Huybrechts

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier
8x Players (Friday November 3)

Additional Qualifiers
2022 World Youth Champion -  JOSH ROCK
2022 World Youth Championship runner-up -  NATHAN GIRVAN
Top-ranked non-qualified player from Challenge Tour Order of Merit - October 29
Top-ranked non-qualified player from Development Tour Order of Merit - August 19
2023 Women’s World Matchplay Winner - BEAU GREAVES
Top-ranked non-qualified player from 2023 Women's Series Order of Merit - October 15
2023 PDC Asian Championship Winner - October 8
2023 CDC Continental Cup Winner - October 22 *

* Under PDC Rule 3.9, as a PDC Tour Card Holder of more than two years, Jeff Smith was not able to qualify by virtue of winning the 2023 North American Championship. As such, the place has been awarded for 2023 to the CDC Continental Cup winner.