Greaves & Sherrock secure Women's Series titles in Wigan

Beau Greaves (Taylor Lanning/PDC)

Beau Greaves and Fallon Sherrock claimed a title apiece on another thrilling day of PDC Women’s Series action at the Robin Park Tennis Centre in Wigan on Sunday.

Following wins for Mikuru Suzuki and Lisa Ashton in Saturday's opening double-header, it was Greaves and Sherrock who celebrated victory in Events 19-20, as each of the top four on the Women’s Series Order of Merit tasted victory this weekend.

Greaves was beaten in back-to-back Women’s Series events for just the second time in 2023 on Saturday, although normal service was resumed when she scooped the Event 19 title on Sunday afternoon.

The Betfred Women’s World Matchplay champion defeated Anastasia Dobromyslova 5-2 to clinch her record-extending 20th PDC Women’s Series crown, averaging 94 to cap off an impressive display.

The 19-year-old conceded just four legs in her opening five matches, averaging 92 in her first round win over Aoife McCormack, before overcoming Aileen de Graaf and Italy’s Aurora Fochesato.

However, the Doncaster darter survived a major scare in her semi-final showdown against Noa-Lynn van Leuven, who squandered four match darts in a dramatic last-leg shoot-out.

Dobromyslova, meanwhile, continued her resurgence to reach a second consecutive Women’s Series final, edging out Priscilla Steenbergen and whitewashing Katie Sheldon to reach the last eight.

There, she came through a scrappy affair against Rhian O’Sullivan to seal her spot in the last four, which she backed up with a 5-1 rout of Lorraine Hyde to pocket the £1,000 runner-up prize.

Elsewhere, Van Leuven defeated Event 17 winner Mikuru Suzuki in a nine-leg thriller to reach the semi-finals, after the Japanese star had dumped out both Sherrock and Lisa Ashton earlier in the campaign.

The day’s double-header concluded in dramatic fashion, as Sherrock ended her losing run against Greaves to claim a crucial victory in her bid for World Darts Championship qualification.

Ashton’s exploits on Saturday had seen her move to within £650 of Sherrock on the Order of Merit, but the Milton Keynes star responded in fine style on Sunday to restore her buffer in the race to secure third place and Paddy Power World Darts Championship qualification.

The 29-year-old relinquished a solitary leg in progressing to the last eight, following up a 4-1 drubbing of Kim Holden with three consecutive whitewash wins.

Sherrock then swept aside Finland’s Kirsi Viinikainen and O’Sullivan to set up a showdown against Greaves, who was eyeing her 13th Women’s Series success of the year.

Greaves boasted the higher average throughout the contest, but she was unable to extend her remarkable winning run against Sherrock, with all nine legs going with throw.

Following this weekend’s action, the sixth and final weekend of PDC Women’s Series action in 2023 will take place in Wigan next month.

The Robin Park Tennis Centre will play host to Events 21-24 on October 14-15, with coverage streamed live on PDCTV from 1000 BST on each day.

The top two non-qualified players from the final PDC Women's Series Order of Merit will qualify for the 2023/24 World Darts Championship, with current leader Greaves assured of qualification following her Women's World Matchplay exploits.

Suzuki and Sherrock currently occupy the next two provisional qualification places, with Suzuki also poised to book her Grand Slam of Darts return in November.

See full event draw and results in the Match Centre.

Click here for match stats through DartConnect.

2023 PDC Women's Series
Sunday September 17
Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan
Event 19

Lorraine Hyde 5-3 Kim Holden
Anastasia Dobromyslova 5-3 Rhian O'Sullivan
Beau Greaves 5-0 Natalie Gilbert
Noa-Lynn van Leuven 5-4 Mikuru Suzuki

Anastasia Dobromyslova 5-1 Lorraine Hyde
Beau Greaves 5-4 Noa-Lynn van Leuven

Beau Greaves 5-2 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Event 20

Beau Greaves 5-3 Kirsty Hutchinson
Lorraine Hyde 5-0 Leanne Topper
Rhian O'Sullivan 5-2 Lisa Ashton
Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Kirsi Viinikainen

Beau Greaves 5-2 Lorraine Hyde
Fallon Sherrock 5-1 Rhian O'Sullivan

Fallon Sherrock 5-4 Beau Greaves