2023 BoyleSports World Grand Prix field confirmed

Michael van Gerwen (Kieran Cleeves/PDC)

The 32-player field for the 2023 BoyleSports World Grand Prix has been confirmed ahead of October's event in Leicester.

The unique double-start tournament will take place at the Morningside Arena from October 2-8, as six-time champion Michael van Gerwen bids to retain his title in the East Midlands.

The field of competitors has been confirmed following the conclusion of the Hungarian Darts Trophy, with Luke Woodhouse claiming the final qualifying place from the ProTour Order of Merit following his run to the quarter-finals in Budapest.

Ricardo Pietreczko was in the provisional qualification places ahead of this weekend's action, but his first round defeat - coupled with Gian van Veen's win over Nathan Aspinall - ended the German's hopes.

Van Veen would have sealed his World Grand Prix debut with victory over Damon Heta in Sunday's last 16, but his narrow 6-4 defeat to the Australian saw him overhauled by Woodhouse.

Scott Williams could have forced his way into the 32-player field by lifting the title in the Hungarian capital, although a semi-final defeat to Dave Chisnall ended his qualification dreams.

Reigning World Grand Prix champion Van Gerwen will headline this year’s event, which will see World Champion Michael Smith and 2018 runner-up Peter Wright eyeing maiden double-start titles.

Former champions Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton will also be among the eight seeded players, alongside World Matchplay champion Nathan Aspinall – the runner-up to Van Gerwen in 2022.

Luke Humphries and Rob Cross make up the seeded representatives, while two-time winner James Wade will make his 19th consecutive appearance as an Order of Merit qualifier.

Wade will be joined in Leicester by two-time runner-up Chisnall and 2020 finalist Dirk van Duijvenbode, who also sealed their qualification via the PDC Order of Merit.

World Youth Champion Josh Rock leads the list of 16 ProTour Order of Merit qualifiers, which also includes 2017 winner Daryl Gurney and two-time World Champion Gary Anderson.

The trio of Ross Smith, Andrew Gilding and Chris Dobey – winners of televised events in the last 12 months – will also feature at the Morningside Arena, along with 2011 runner-up Brendan Dolan.

Dutch legend Raymond van Barneveld - a finalist in 2008 and 2009 - will also star in the 32-player event, as he prepares to make his World Grand Prix return following a five-year hiatus.

The draw for the 2023 World Grand Prix will be made on Monday September 25, and will be available through BoyleSports’ social media channels.

2023 BoyleSports World Grand Prix
PDC Order of Merit Top 16

Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price
Nathan Aspinall
Luke Humphries
Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross
Danny Noppert
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Joe Cullen
Dave Chisnall
Damon Heta
Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ryan Searle
James Wade

ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers
Josh Rock
Krzysztof Ratajski
Martin Schindler
Stephen Bunting
Ross Smith
Andrew Gilding
Jose de Sousa
Gary Anderson
Mike De Decker
Daryl Gurney
Gabriel Clemens
Brendan Dolan
Raymond van Barneveld
Chris Dobey
Callan Rydz
Luke Woodhouse