Super Sherrock wins back-to-back PDC Women's Series titles in Wigan

Fallon Sherrock (PDC)

Fallon Sherrock celebrated a brilliant brace of PDC Women’s Series titles in Wigan on Saturday to confirm her qualification for the 2023/24 Paddy Power World Darts Championship.

Sherrock kicked off the final weekend of PDC Women’s Series action by winning back-to-back titles at the Robin Park Tennis Centre, securing her World Championship qualification alongside Japan's Mikuru Suzuki.

With just two events remaining on Sunday, the duo hold an unassailable advantage in the Women's Series rankings, and will therefore return to the sport’s flagship event in December.

However, Sherrock has now leapfrogged Suzuki in the race to qualify for November’s Grand Slam of Darts, after claiming the Events 21 and 22 spoils on Saturday.

The 29-year-old - also a winner in Event 20 last month - whitewashed Vicky Pruim and Aoife McCormack in the respective finals to cap off a perfect darting day at the Robin Park Tennis Centre.

Sherrock stormed to Event 21 success in comprehensive style, winning 12 legs without reply in the latter stages of the tournament to scoop the £2,000 winner’s prize.

Sherrock won through a tough opening tie against Women’s World Matchplay semi-finalist Robyn Byrne, defeating the Irish thrower 4-1 before overcoming Astrid Trouwborst by the same scoreline.

The Milton Keynes star then recorded 4-2 wins against Laura Patton and Rebecca Hoyland, averaging 94 against the latter, before battling past Scotland’s Lorraine Hyde 5-3 in the last eight.

She continued her progress with a whitewash win Finland’s Kirsi Viinikainen in the semi-finals, and later repeated the feat against Sweden’s Pruim to prevail with a 95.13 average.

Sherrock produced winning legs of 17, 13, 17, 17 and 15 darts to cap off a dominant display, after Pruim had dumped out Women’s World Matchplay winner Beau Greaves in the last eight.

However, Sherrock did claim the scalps of Suzuki and Greaves - the Women's Series Order of Merit leader - on her way to Event 22 glory, which saw her secure a third consecutive Women’s Series crown for the first time in her career.

The former Women’s World Matchplay winner relinquished just a solitary leg in reaching the last 16, whitewashing her twin sister Felicia Blay and breezing past Chloe O’Brien and Quintey Bieman.

In the last 16, Sherrock survived two match darts in an edgy seven-leg affair against Suzuki, before easing past Kirsty Hutchinson to set up a mouth-watering last four showdown against Greaves.

Sherrock ended her losing run against Greaves in Event 20 last month, and she made it back-to-back wins against the teenage sensation with a dramatic deciding-leg victory.

Greaves fought back from 4-1 down to force a last-leg shoot-out, in which she had the advantage of throw, only for Sherrock to regain her poise and triumph with her sixth match dart.

McCormack – another first-time finalist – awaited Sherrock in the Event 22 showpiece, but experience paid dividends as Sherrock delivered another five-leg blitz to secure her fourth title of 2023.

Sherrock has subsequently put herself in pole position to qualify November’s Grand Slam of Darts, with Women’s World Matchplay champion Greaves already assured of her place in Wolverhampton.

The eventual second-placed star from the final Women's Series Order of Merit will join Greaves in the 32-player field, and Suzuki came into the weekend with a £2,200 lead over Sherrock.

Nevertheless, the former Grand Slam quarter-finalist now holds the initiative with two events remaining, moving £1,500 above Suzuki after extending her winning run on the Women's Series to a remarkable sequence of 21 straight matches.

The 2023 PDC Women's Series season will conclude with Events 23-24 on Sunday, with coverage streamed live on PDCTV from approximately 1000 BST.

Click here for match stats & results

Click here for Event Draws & Results

2023 PDC Women's Series
Saturday October 14
The Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan
Event 21

Kirsi Viinikainen 5-0 Aoife McCormack
Fallon Sherrock 5-3 Lorraine Hyde
Vicky Pruim 5-2 Beau Greaves
Laura Turner 5-4 Steph Clarke

Fallon Sherrock 5-0 Kirsi Viinikainen
Vicky Pruim 5-1 Laura Turner

Fallon Sherrock 5-0 Vicky Pruim

Event 22

Aoife McCormack 5-4 Sara Mortimer
Anastasia Dobromyslova 5-3 Corrine Hammond
Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Kirsty Hutchinson
Beau Greaves 5-3 Deta Hedman

Aoife McCormack 5-4 Anastasia Dobromyslova
Fallon Sherrock 5-4 Beau Greaves

Fallon Sherrock 5-0 Aoife McCormack