2023/24 Paddy Power World Darts Championship post-Christmas schedule

Michael Smith (Kieran Cleeves/PDC)

The post-Christmas schedule of play for the 2023/24 Paddy Power World Darts Championship third round has been confirmed.

The remaining 32 players will continue their battle for the coveted Sid Waddell Trophy when the tournament resumes on Wednesday December 27, with the third round being spread across three packed days of action.

Reigning champion Michael Smith will face Latvia's Madars Razma as his quest to retain the title sees him return to the Ally Pally stage, while three-time champion Michael van Gerwen faces his compatriot Richard Veenstra.

Teenage superstar Luke Littler will also feature on a bumper night of action when he plays Canada's number one Matt Campbell, with 2018 champion Rob Cross and former semi-finalists Gabriel Clemens and Dave Chisnall starring in the afternoon session.

Pre-tournament favourite Luke Humphries will resume his title bid against German debutant Ricardo Pietreczko on Thursday December 28, as 2021 champion Gerwyn Price faces Brendan Dolan.

Price's fellow Welshman Jim Williams will play five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld for a place in the last 16 on Friday December 29, before two-time winner Gary Anderson rounds off the third round action against Croatia's Boris Krcmar.

The fourth round will then conclude on December 30, with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final taking place from January 1-3.

2023/24 Paddy Power World Darts Championship
Wednesday December 27
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)
Third Round

Scott Williams v Martin Schindler (R3)
Dave Chisnall v Gabriel Clemens (R3)
Rob Cross v Jeffrey de Graaf (R3)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Matt Campbell v Luke Littler (R3)
Michael van Gerwen v Richard Veenstra (R3)
Michael Smith v Madars Razma (R3)

Thursday December 28
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

Florian Hempel v Stephen Bunting (R3)
Joe Cullen v Ryan Searle (R3)
Ross Smith v Chris Dobey (R3)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Gerwyn Price v Brendan Dolan (R3)
Luke Humphries v Ricardo Pietreczko (R3)
Ricky Evans v Daryl Gurney (R3)

Friday December 29
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

Damon Heta v Berry van Peer (R3)
Jonny Clayton v Krzysztof Ratajski (R3)
Jim Williams v Raymond van Barneveld (R3)

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
Boris Krcmar v Gary Anderson (R3)
2x Fourth Round TBC

Saturday December 30
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

3x Fourth Round

Evening Session (1930 GMT)
3x Fourth Round

Monday January 1
Afternoon Session (1230 GMT)

2x Quarter-Finals

Evening Session (1900 GMT)
2x Quarter-Finals

Tuesday January 2 (1930 GMT)

Wednesday January 3 (2000 GMT)

Third Round - Best of seven sets
Fourth Round - Best of seven sets
Quarter-Finals - Best of nine sets
Semi-Finals - Best of 11 sets
Final - Best of 13 sets


First Round matches will not have a tie-break; if the fifth set reaches two-all in legs, then the fifth leg will be sudden-death.
From the Second Round onwards, there will be a tie-break rule employed in all matches; where a deciding set must be won by two clear legs. If the score in the final set reaches 5-5 then a sudden-death leg will be played.
There would be no throw for the bull in any sudden-death legs.