Lauby, Hunt & Bellmont progress to Final Stage at 2024 PDC Q Schools

Danny Lauby (CDC)

Danny Lauby, Adam Hunt and Stefan Bellmont were among the first 16 players to make it through PDC Qualifying Schools First Stage on Monday.

The opening day of the 2024 PDC Qualifying Schools saw Stage One begin in Milton Keynes and Kalkar, with over 850 players competing this week for the chance to become permanent fixtures on the PDC circuit over the next two years.

First Stage, taking place from January 8-10, sees players from across the globe attempting to qualify to compete in the Final Stage, where Tour Cards will be on offer from January 11-14.

Eight players per day will progress from the First Stage at each venue, with all further places going to players from a First Stage Order of Merit in each region.

The opening day of UK Qualifying School in Milton Keynes saw American ace Lauby and former World Youth Championship semi-finalist Hunt among the eight players to progress to the Final Stage.

Lauby conceded just seven legs in his five matches at the Marshall Arena, averaging 102 in a 5-1 demolition of Sean Ryan, whitewashing Harry Gregory and Peter Burgoyne, before edging out Wales' Kevin Thomas in a last-leg shoot-out.

Hunt, meanwhile, averaged over 104 in a first round whitewash of Justin Giles, before seeing off former World Championship quarter-finalist Alan Norris on his way to reaching the last eight.

Matthew Dennant followed up a ton-topping average against Aden Kirk with victory over Justin Hood in the pair's decisive last 16 tussle, while Welsh duo Mike Warburton and Llew Bevan also sealed their progression.

They will be joined in the Final Stage by Harry Lane, Kieron Bridgwater and Patrick Lynskey, who made up the eight qualifiers from UK Qualifying School on Monday.

Former Women's World Matchplay winner Fallon Sherrock progressed to the last 64 before succumbing to Hong Kong's Kai Fan Leung, while three-time World Champion John Part won his opening tie before losing out to Alec Small in the last 128.

Two-time TV title winner Robert Thornton and 2004 World Championship runner-up Kevin Painter were among the other high-profile names in action, although both were beaten in the last 256 on an action-packed opening day.

At the European Qualifying School, Switzerland's number one Bellmont began his bid to become the first player from his homeland to secure a PDC Tour Card by coming through First Stage in Germany.

There were 480 players in action in Kalkar, and Bellmont underlined his credentials with some dominant displays, overcoming former World Championship qualifier Rene Eidams and averaging 100 in a whitewash win against Jannes Bremermann.

Bellmont was joined in the last eight by compatriot Felix Schiertz, while Swedish youngster Anton Östlund also progressed to Final Stage after averaging 102.87 in his opening round win against Xanti Van den Bergh.

Matthias Ehlers averaged 101 in his five-leg blitz of Ricky de Vos on his way to joining his fellow German Arno Merk in Final Stage, with Czech pairing Filip Sebesta and Vitezslav Sedlak also winning through.

Belgium's Stefaan Henderyck was one of the most consistent performers on Day One, following up a 5-1 thrashing of Ron Meulenkamp with a dramatic comeback victory against Greece's John Michael in the last 16.

Newly crowned WDF Champion Andy Baetens was beaten by Sedlak in the last 256, while Germany's Max Hopp posted averages of 98 and 97 before succumbing to Moritz Hilger in an all-German clash in the last 64.

Two-time Premier League participant Jelle Klaasen exited at the last 128 stage, alongside New Zealand's World Cup of Darts duo Ben Robb and Haupai Puha.

The UK and European Qualifying Schools will continue on Tuesday, where a further 16 players will automatically progress to Final Stage.

The remaining places will be allocated to players from a First Stage Order of Merit in each region, with one ranking point awarded per match from the first full round onwards.

Any ties in the respective Q Schools Orders of Merit will be split as follows based on all match results: Leg Difference, Legs Won, then DartConnect average. If players still cannot be split, a play-off would be organised.

Click here for match stats & results from UK Q School Day One

Click here for match stats & results from European Q School Day One

Click here for Event Draws & Results

2024 PDC Qualifying Schools
UK Qualifying School
First Stage Day One
Last 16

Llew Bevan 5-3 Jim Moston
Harry Lane 5-2 Daniel Astbury
Mike Warburton 5-0 Keelan Kay
Adam Hunt 5-2 Lee Williams
Kieron Bridgwater 5-3 Jim McEwan
Danny Lauby 5-4 Kevin Thomas
Matthew Dennant 5-3 Justin Hood
Patrick Lynskey 5-4 Kevin Leadenham

European Qualifying School
First Stage Day One
Last 16

Stefan Bellmont 5-3 Christian Goedl
Felix Schiertz 5-3 Moritz Hilger
Stefaan Henderyck 5-4 John Michael
Filip Sebesta 5-2 Jani Keskinarkaus
Vitezslav Sedlak 5-4 Jeffrey Bekema
Arno Merk 5-4 Gilbert van der Meijden
Matthias Ehlers 5-2 Patrick Tringler
Anton Ostlund 5-3 Oliver Mueller (Frankfurt)

First Stage - January 8-10
UK Qualifying School

Start Time: Approx 1000 GMT
Format: best of nine legs
Last eight players each day progress to Final Stage

European Qualifying School
First Stage - January 8-10

Start Time: Approx 1000 CET
Format: best of nine legs
Last eight players progress to Final Stage

In addition to the daily automatic players and the players exempt to the Final Stage, further players up to a total of 128 will be taken from the respective UK/European Qualifying School First Stage Orders of Merit following Day Three.