2024 Betfred World Matchplay race ahead of PC11-12

World Matchplay general view

The race to qualify for the 2024 Betfred World Matchplay continues this week, as the PDC ProTour season resumes in Germany.

Players Championships 11-12 will take place at Halle 39 in Hildesheim on June 11-12, with a 128-player field competing for the £15,000 top prize across each event.

There are five ranking events remaining before the World Matchplay qualification cut-off on July 3, with four Players Championship events taking place alongside the NEO.bet European Darts Open in Leverkusen from June 21-23.

Following the conclusion of Players Championship 14, the 32-player field for next month's Betfred World Matchplay will be confirmed.

The top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit will be seeded for July's showpiece event in Blackpool, and they will be joined by 16 qualifiers from the 12-month ProTour Order of Merit.

Reigning champion Nathan Aspinall will be aiming to retain the coveted Phil Taylor Trophy from July 13-21, with world number one Luke Humphries and three-time champion Michael van Gerwen also set to headline the £800,000 event.

Former winners Rob Cross, Peter Wright and Dimitri Van den Bergh will also be among the 16 seeds at the Winter Gardens, alongside world number three Michael Smith and 2022 runner-up Gerwyn Price.

Two-time World Champion Gary Anderson - a World Matchplay winner in 2018 - will head up the 16 qualifiers from the one-year ProTour Order of Merit, as Premier League champion Luke Littler prepares to make his highly-anticipated Blackpool bow.

European Championship semi-finalist Gian van Veen and Germany's Ricardo Pietreczko are also poised to make their World Matchplay debuts next month, as are Ritchie Edhouse and Luke Woodhouse.

Former champion James Wade - an ever-present in Blackpool since 2006 - currently occupies the final provisional qualification place on the ProTour Order of Merit, with Kevin Doets, Callan Rydz and Mike De Decker leading the chasing pack.

The tables below show the latest standings in the race to the Betfred World Matchplay, which will take place at Blackpool's Winter Gardens from July 13-21, televised on Sky Sports and through the PDC's global broadcast partners.

N.B. Players competing in PCs11-14 and the NEO.bet European Darts Open (ET8) who are not listed below can still qualify via the ProTour Order of Merit.

The ProTour Order of Merit table used for Betfred World Matchplay qualification runs from 2023 Players Championship 15 to 2024 Players Championship 14.

The tournament will be broadcast live on Sky Sports in the UK, through the PDC's worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV (excluding UK, Germany, Austria & Switzerland based subscribers).

Betfred World Matchplay qualification race