Taylor Triumphs In Ireland

Taylor Triumphs In Ireland

PHIL TAYLOR has won the Ireland Open Classic, defeating Denis Ovens 7-1 in Sunday's final.

Taylor, playing in his first tournament since seeing his winning run ended at the Stan James World Matchplay in July, was back to top form to take the title.

Ovens continued his good form in 2005 by reaching the final, seeing off Peter Manley 6-3 in the semi-final, while Taylor powered past Alex Roy in the other last four clash.

The World Champion had earlier been pushed all the way by Steve Maish before he recovered to see off Bob Anderson and Alan Warriner.

World Matchplay qualifier Colin Osborne's rise continued with a run to the quarters, including a defeat of Roland Scholten, while Adrian Lewis ended Colin Lloyd's hopes on his way to the last 16.

Ireland Open Classic
Phil Taylor 7-1 Denis Ovens

Denis Ovens 6-4 Peter Manley
Phil Taylor 6-2 Alex Roy

Denis Ovens 6-3 Mick McGowan
Peter Manley 6-4 Colin Osborne
Phil Taylor 6-3 Alan Warriner
Alex Roy 6-5 Kevin Painter

Last 16

Mick McGowan 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Denis Ovens 6-1 Chris Mason
Colin Osborne 6-4 Roland Scholten
Peter Manley 6-1 Dennis Smith
Phil Taylor 6-3 Bob Anderson
Alan Warriner 6-1 Andy Jenkins
Alex Roy 6-0 Mark Landers
Kevin Painter 6-4 Keiran Lennon

Last 32
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Colin Lloyd
Mick McGowan 6-5 Steve Beaton
Denis Ovens 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Chris Mason 6-4 Mark Dudbridge
Roland Scholten 6-3 James Wade
Colin Osborne 6-5 Matt Clark
Peter Manley 6-1 Gerry Rattigan
Dennis Smith 6-4 Jamie Harvey
Phil Taylor 6-5 Steve Maish
Bob Anderson 6-4 Lionel Sams
Andy Jenkins 6-5 Erik Clarys
Alan Warriner 6-5 Simon Whatley
Mark Landers 6-4 Gareth Gray
Alex Roy 6-3 R Farrell
Kevin Painter 6-3 Andy Smith
K Lennon 6-2 Dennis Priestley

Last 64

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Mark Walsh
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Alan Caves
Steven Beaton 6-2 Harry Anderson
Mick Magowan 6-4 Dave Askew
Dennis Ovens 6-3 Colin Monk
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Darren Webster
Mark Dudbridge 6-1 M. Hyland
Chris Mason 6-3 Tom Kirby
Roland Scholten 6-0 Keith Deller
James Wade 6-2 Matt Chapman
Colin Osbourne 6-5 Gary Welding
Matt Clark 6-3 Jason Clark
Peter Manley 6-1 Cliff Lazarenko
Gerry Rattigan 6-2 Graham Moulds
Dennis Smith 6-4 Ian Willis
Jamie Harvey 6-4 Colin Strong
Phil Taylor 6-0 Paudric O' Kane
Steve Maish 6-1 John Ward
Lionel Sams 6-2 D. Johnson
Bob Anderson 6-0 J. Niland
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Geoffrey Mathews
Eric Clarys 6-0 Sean Gallagher
Alan Warriner 6-1 Eugene Mc Ardle
Simon Whatley 6-5 Paul Williams
Gareth Gray 6-5 Reg Harding
M. Landers 6-3 Andrew Hamilton
Raymond Farrell 6-4 Peter Evison
Alex Roy 6-0 Dereck Kavanagh
Kevin Painter 6-1 Don Healy
Andy Smith 6-5 Andy Callaby
Dennis Priestley 6-1 Mick Manning
Kieran Lennon 6-3 Roy Bailie