Third Straight Win For Barney!

RAYMOND VAN BARNEVELD won the Stan James Players Championship in Gibraltar with a 3-1 victory over Adrian Lewis in the final.

The Dutchman has now won three successive tournaments, adding to his triumphs in the World Darts Championship and Blue Square UK Open North-East Regional Final with another imperious display on Saturday.

Van Barneveld dropped just three legs in a high-quality final, opening up a two-set lead before Lewis raised his game to win the third and stay in the match.

The World Champion showed his quality by winning the fourth set 2-0 to claim another title and the £5,000 first prize.
He overcame Dave Honey and local player Juan Antono Cea Mouna in straight sets, before defeating Mick McGowan, Barrie Bates, Wayne Mardle and Ronnie Baxter to reach the final.

Lewis, who was named as the eighth and final player for the 2007 Holsten Premier League Darts this week, edged out Colin Lloyd on his route to the final, and was a 3-1 winner against Peter Manley in the semis.

Michael van Gerwen, Vincent van der Voort and Jelle Klaasen all made good impressions on their first appearances since joining the PDC last week.

Van Gerwen defeated Andy Hamilton on his way to the last 16, with van der Voort falling at the same stage to Lewis, while Klaasen reached the last 32 before a defeat to Manley.

The Players Championship will take place on Sunday at the Queensway Club.

Stan James Players Championship
First Round

Raymond van Barneveld 3-0 Dave Honey
Mick McGowan 3-0 Nigel Peden
Barrie Bates 3-2 Ian Whillis
Henry O'Neill 3-2 Vernon Shepherd
Kevin Painter 3-0 Bob Avenell
Wayne Mardle 3-0 Jason Crawley
Glenn Cameron Bye (Garrett Gray)
Alan Warriner-Little 3-0 Steve Maish
John Part 3-0 Yves Cottenge
John MaGowan 3-2 Sean Palfrey
Alan Tabern 3-0 Dylan Duo
Matt Clark 3-1 Terry Jenkins
Dave Askew 3-0 Lee White
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Steve Grubb
Adrian Gray 3-0 Paul Dillon
Alex Roy 3-1 Shane Passey
Roland Scholten 3-2 Ben Burton
Ian Eames 3-0 Martin Burchell
Owen Caffrey 3-1 Lionel Sams
Andy Hamilton 3-2 Kirk Shepherd
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Andrew Davies
Rocco Maes 3-0 Andy Smith
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Jason Clark
Steve Beaton 3-1 Alan Kimberley
Chris Mason 3-0 Robert Watson-Lang
Denis Ovens 3-1 Jimmy Mann
Adrian Lewis 3-1 Tony Randell
Dave Ladley 3-0 Henry Zapeta
Bob Anderson 3-0 Ray Farrell
James Wade 3-0 Danny Peach
Vincent van der Voort 3-1 Jim Leighton
Wes Newton 3-0 Peter Evison
Dennis Priestley 3-0 Darren Johnson
Colin Osborne 3-0 Manolo V Rodriguez
Darren Webster 3-1 Andy Jenkins
Robbie Green 3-1 Ian Branks
Wayne Jones 3-0 Tab Hunter
Peter Manley 3-0 Jon Archer
Jelle Klaasen 3-1 Wayne Atwood
Colin Monk 3-2 Dennis Smith
Mark Walsh 3-2 Jamie Caven
Mark Dudbridge 3-0 Rod Harrington

Second Round
Raymond van Barneveld 3-0 Juan Antono Cea Mouna
Mick McGowan 3-0 Gary Welding
Barrie Bates 3-2 Steve Brown
Kevin Painter 3-0 Henry O'Neill
Wayne Mardle 3-0 Simon Craven
Alan Warriner-Little 3-0 Glenn Cameron
John Part 3-0 Dayle Ramirez
Alan Tabern 3-0 John MaGowan
Matt Clark 3-0 Justin Broton
Dave Askew 3-0 Barry French
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Amos Bosand
Alex Roy 3-1 Adrian Gray
Roland Scholten 3-1 Bob Crawley
Ian Eames 3-2 Owen Caffrey
Andy Hamilton 3-0 Dyson Parody
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Rocco Maes
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Bruce Terrett
Steve Beaton 3-1 Richie Burnett
Chris Mason 3-0 Paul Wills
Denis Ovens 3-0 Roy Rodgers
Adrian Lewis 3-0 Kevin Spiolek
Bob Anderson 3-0 Dave Ladley
Dave Jowett 3-1 James Wade
Vincent van der Voort 3-1 Wes Newton
Dennis Priestley 3-0 Chris Sargeant
Colin Osborne 3-2 Alan Caves
Darren Webster 3-2 Carlos Jose Rodriguez Sequera
Wayne Jones 3-1 Robbie Green
Peter Manley 3-0 Kieron Leal
Jelle Klaasen 3-1 Colin Monk
Mark Walsh 3-0 Francis Julian
Mark Dudbridge 3-0 Ian Critchett
Losers £75

Third Round
Raymond van Barneveld 3-1 Mick McGowan
Barrie Bates 3-1 Kevin Painter
Wayne Mardle 3-2 Alan Warriner-Little
Alan Tabern 3-1 John Part
Matt Clark 3-2 Dave Askew
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Alex Roy
Roland Scholten 3-1 Ian Eames
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Andy Hamilton
Colin Lloyd 3-1 Steve Beaton
Denis Ovens 3-2 Chris Mason
Adrian Lewis 3-0 Bob Anderson
Vincent van der Voort 4-0 Dave Jowett
Colin Osborne 3-1 Dennis Priestley
Wayne Jones 3-2 Darren Webster
Peter Manley 3-0 Jelle Klaasen
Mark Dudbridge 3-1 Mark Walsh
Losers £150

Fourth Round
Raymond van Barneveld 3-1 Barrie Bates
Wayne Mardle 3-2 Alan Tabern
Ronnie Baxter 3-1 Matt Clark
Roland Scholten 3-0 Michael van Gerwen
Colin Lloyd 3-0 Denis Ovens
Adrian Lewis 3-2 Vincent van der Voort
Wayne Jones 3-0 Colin Osborne
Peter Manley 3-1 Mark Dudbridge
Losers £300

Raymond van Barneveld 3-1 Wayne Mardle
Ronnie Baxter 3-1 Roland Scholten
Adrian Lewis 3-2 Colin Lloyd
Peter Manley 3-1 Wayne Jones
Losers £600

Raymond van Barneveld 3-1 Ronnie Baxter (2-0, 0-2, 2-1, 2-1)
Adrian Lewis 3-1 Peter Manley (2-0, 2-0, 0-2, 2-1)
Losers £1,250

Raymond van Barneveld 3-1 Adrian Lewis (2-0, 2-1, 0-2, 2-0)
Winner £5,000
Runner-Up £2,500