Topic IDL - Day One Round-Up

THE opening day of the Topic International Darts League produced wins for Phil Taylor, Raymond van Barneveld, Colin Lloyd and Roland Scholten.

The tournament began with an upset on Saturday afternoon, with Vincent van der Voort overcoming Mervyn King.

That was quickly followed with defeats for van Barneveld and Scholten in their opening matches against Gary Robson and Simon Whitlock.

Ronnie Baxter was also defeated in the afternoon session, going down 6-4 to Ted Hankey before Colin Lloyd - just two days after snatching fourth place in the Holsten Premier League - won 6-1 against Tony Eccles.

Lloyd went 4-0 up with legs of 15, 14, 15 and 14 darts, and though Eccles hit back to pick up a leg, he quickly completed the biggest win of the opening afternoon.

Scholten matched that scoreline in the evening, bouncing back from his earlier loss to defeat fellow Dutchman Johnny Nijs.

Van Barneveld also got off the mark, winning 6-2 in his contest against van der Voort with an average of almost 105.

Taylor meets Paul Hanvidge in Sunday's opening match, while Lloyd faces Martin Atkins and Baxter faces John Walton during the afternoon.

Scholten takes on Albertino Essers in the evening session, while van Barneveld plays also plays his final first round game when he faces Mervyn King - with the loser exiting the tournament.

Taylor and Lloyd also complete their opening matches when they return to the stage to face Co Stompe and Michael van Gerwen respectively.

Pictures courtest Robert Lusing, Topic IDL

Topic International Darts League
Afternoon Session
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Mervyn King
Gary Robson 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Roland Scholten
Albertino Essers 6-3 Johnny Nijs
Niels De Ruiter 6-4 John Walton
Ted Hankey 6-4 Ronnie Baxter
Colin Lloyd 6-1 Tony Eccles
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Martin Atkins
Paul Hanvidge 6-4 Co Stompe
Phil Taylor 6-5 Darryl Fitton

Evening Session
Paul Hogan 6-3 Gary Anderson
Brian Sorensen 6-2 Per Laursen
Martin Adams 6-3 Dick van Dijk
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Andy Fordham
Tony O'Shea 6-3 Tony Martin
Shaun Greatbatch 6-3 Mareno Michels
Mervyn King 6-1 Gary Robson
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Albertino Essers 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Roland Scholten 6-1 Johnny Nijs